Expecting a baby this month- Pick a Jun… name

.There are many to choose from- if they are too obvious for a first name consider them for a middle!

girls

June- The obvious choice- short sweet and waiting in the wings for a revival with siblings Hazel, Olive and Ruby already in the NZ top 100. The sixth month of the year in Julian and Gregorian calendars it is one of four months that have 30 days.

Juni-  German, Dutch, Norweigan, Swedish, Danish, Finnish and Indonesian sixth month

&  Juny-  the  Catalan sixth month- use as a nickname or a full name.

Juno- Roman goddess, Queen of the heavens and sister and wife to Jupiter, jaunty and fun.

Juna- a variant of June- a 4 letter girls name ending in a- think Maia, Emma, Mila, Isla…

Iuni- Bulgarian sixth month

Iunie- Romanian sixth month- Go on use a name beginning with I.

Juniper- From the Latin iuniperus a type of tree. Playful and carefree.

Junia- The feminine form of Junius (A Roman family name) A more royal sounding June form.

*****************************************************************************

boys

Junio- Spanish sixth month- romantic and fun to say

Junho- Portuguese sixth month- use with caution.

Juin- The french sixth month- a little tricky to pronounce

Junius- The Latin name for the fourth month in the Roman Calendar. An older feeling June name.

Jun- Spanish, Slovenian, Malaysian & Hungarian sixth month. The shortest Jun name paired with a longer middle could be a winner.

 

******

References

wikipedia

Wikitonary

ayearandadaywicca.wordpress.com

nameberry

behindthename

 

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Eva said,

    I love a lot of Jun names for girls! Juno, Juniper, and Junia are my favorites. If we have one boy and one girl, our favorites are Atlas and Daphne. If we had another girl I toy with adding Juno or Junia to the sibset.

    Lovely post!

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      OOH I love Atlas tried to talk my hubby round to that one! Daphne is lovely too you don’t hear many of those! Where do you live?
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      • 3

        Eva said,

        Well, thank you for your blog! 🙂 I just love baby name blogs!

        I live in the U.S. in Oregon. I am dying to have children so I can get busy naming them. We’ve been unable to get pregnant for 2 years though. . . . So that’s been difficult. The nice thing is my husband loves Atlas just as much, if not more, than I do! So we’re pretty set on Atlas for a boy. I can’t wait to have an Atlas running around!

        Do I remember correctly that you have a daughter named Juno? Maybe I’m mistaken. If so, it seems we have similar tastes. I love ancient and mythological names. Besides Atlas and Daphne, I love Cassia, Evadne, Junia, Juno, Penelope, Petra, Phoebe, Felix and Titus. What are your favorites?

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I’m sorry to hear it has been such a long journey for you- I hope it won’t be too much longer!
        I think its awesome that you love Atlas so much! 🙂
        I do have a Juno shes 20months now 🙂 and so cheeky and fun!
        I think you are right that we do share similar tastes I too have a soft spot for mythological names-I like Hera, Freya, Gaia, Artemis, Athena, Zeus, Io, Hebe.
        🙂

      • 5

        Eva said,

        Yes, Hera and Athena are so lovely! I would really consider Athena except we know a little Athena. That’s not a name you want to repeat since it’s so bold and unusual. 🙂

        What do you think of having an Atlas. . . . and another goddess? Like Atlas and Juno? I think it’s very cute, but too much maybe? Too “themey”? That’s why I was thinking of Daphne (or something similar) because it’s mythological, but not another god/goddess.

        Where do you live? Do you think mythological names will become very popular?

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        I think two goddess/god names is a bit themey but I guess depends on how many kids you are planning to have too…
        I think Atlas & Daphne are fine together 🙂
        I live in NZ in Christchurch, the only ones i have heard out there are Maia (not as popular now) and Freya.

  2. 7

    Sophia said,

    My true Jun- love has to be Juno, followed pretty closely by Juniper. One of the names my dad and stepmum were considering for my baby brother, had he been a girl, was Juniper Blossom.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

