Help hubby doesn’t like number 1 boys name!

Hubby has told me 5weeks out he doesnt love our top boys choice or any on the shortlist! Maybe we are having a girl 🙂

So throw all your quirky boys suggestions at me!

Discarded: Beckett, Heath, Bennett, Cedric, Emmett, Lewis & Emerson.

Used: Milo & Bede (Cat & Car)

19 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Oh no, I hate that husbandly mind-change! (ha, I thought it was just mine!)

    Can I ask what you consider to be a “quirky” name? Something offbeat, like Huckleberry, or a unique nature name like Raindrop, or do you mean more like ancient names, like Alaric, or do you mean “classic but rare” like Julius? Or just anything that isn’t Top 100?

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Um I guess outside top 100, fairly unusual but with spunk does that help at all lol

      • 3

        Can I interest you in any of these, which I just pulled off my own blog:

        Kepler (nn KIp)
        Tadhg
        Dragan
        Ari
        Kit
        Kade
        Jethro
        Slade
        Zane?

        Or – :

        Calvin
        Barnaby
        Casimir
        Jago
        Rufus
        Redmond
        Malachi
        Malachy
        Amos
        Quade
        Lennox
        Drake
        Hugo
        Theo
        Leander
        Digory
        Darius
        Rhett
        Arlo
        Ezra

        ? These are all names I’ve seen people suggest again and again and again, so it seems like most people like them!

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        Several on your list are on our shortlist 🙂 great suggestions! Thanks so much.

  2. 5

    haley said,

    o no anna!!! well, i think you should tell him its too late to change! i have to fess with both my boys (archie and Rupert) i had a wee freak out about 5wks before and said i didnt know about the names – dh wouldnt let me change, and i am sooo pleased he didnt, because i am totally in love with their names!
    i heard of a wee boy called Herbert (herbie) which i thought was cute.. and i really like Claude too… good luck picking…

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Herbert is very cute :). Hubby likes Monty what do you think? Interesting that it was you that said you didn’t know about the names 🙂 did you know when you meet them that they suited their name?

  3. 7

    Eeek! Well, there’s a whole world of names out there, so it’s very difficult with so little to go on, but off the top of my head, I’ll fling a few in the pot for you:

    Alastair, Alberic, Archer, Arthur, Caspian, Chester, Corbett, Crispin, Edric, Emmett, Everett, Faber, Felix, Fergus, Fletcher, Garrett, Godric, Harris, Jarvis, Kester, Merrick, Ledger, Louis, Oliver, Osiris, Peter, Rider, Roger, Rufus, Sawyer, Spencer, Theo, Travis, Tristan

    Good luck!

  4. 9

    Sophia said,

    What a dilemma! Ha. But I’m sure you’ll come up with something fantastic 🙂 My suggestions are Cassius/Cassian, Finn, Keaton, Louis, Casper/Caspian, Olegas, Truman, Silas, Cyrus, Fletcher, Archer, Hunter, Solomon, Galen, Ilyan, Emmet, Oscar, Yestin, Clancy… Good luck! Can’t wait to hear what names you chose in the end! Gonna be a well-named baby for sure 🙂

    • 10

      Sophia said,

      Oh and also, Monty=awesome! Love that name 🙂 My childhood teddybear was called Monty.

    • 12

      babynamelover said,

      We have debated Finn but decided it was to common. I like Louie but we have one at work. Caspar may be sitting on the edge of the list :). Solomon has been on the list but I think its too biblical for me. Some great suggestions though 🙂 definitely the right style 🙂

      • 13

        Sophia said,

        I don’t love Montgomery but if a boy by that name was only going to go by Monty it’d be ok. Monty on its own sounds a little nicknamey to be on the birth certificate. Do you think so?

      • 14

        babynamelover said,

        Yeah I thought that too! Argh its so hard hehe 🙂

      • 15

        haley said,

        i think my idea on having nickname type names has changed since having my kids.. i didnt like archer or archibald so i just stuck with archie – i am totally happy with that, even tho during preg it was something i really debated – i think why have a name if you are never going to use it. I think monty is great, and you should only use montgomery if you plan on using it in the future. i agree anna, finn is really common now. Louie was our ‘plan b’ name for both my boys, i still really like it. Solomon was also on my list – but i fell for rupert more..

      • 16

        babynamelover said,

        Hubby is quite keen on having a longer version if its nicknamey, but he did seem to think Monty was okay on its own. My sister is Katherine but has only ever used Kate, I guess though that you never know if as an adult your child would have wished you gave them a longer/formal version so they could fall back on. This naming a child is a tricky business hehe 🙂

  5. 17

    haley said,

    anna – i had a wee giggle when i saw u post above you wanted a name that wasnt very common with spunk – that was exactly what i was looking for with my boys!!
    i do like monty, i think it is funky!
    my theory on names (which is totally not scientific – lol) is that people pick names that represent them and their family. so a really conservative family will likely pick a really conservative name, which they will then grow into because they grow up in a totally concervative family – if that makes any sense at all!.. so i think whatever name you pick your child will totally grow into their name. so in answer to your question, i personally never looked at my baby that thought they look like a “…”, but due to our family etc, i just kinda new they would suit it…
    i agree with sophie though, your baby will be very well named!

    • 18

      babynamelover said,

      Hehe love that you get what I mean Haley 🙂 I definitely want names with spunk :P. I think your theory is probably very true!

  6. 19

    haley said,

    o, i like bernard (bernie) too, heard it on a child the other day and thought yup, thats cool!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

