Name for today- April 24th

Harper

Harper is a boys name. (and a girls too)

Harper comes from the Old English hearpe which means harp.

A Harp is a musical instrument that is played especially in Ireland.

Harper Lee wrote “To kill a mockingbird.”

Ben Harper- American Musician.

Variants/Nicknames: Harpar.

Comments on Harper:

I recently heard of little girls named Harper. With all the pretty, feminine names out there, why would you name your daughter Harper? It sounds manly to me. Sorry to people with daughters named Harper.

— pink_floyd_fan 7/23/2006

I love To Kill a Mockingbird, possibly one of the greatest novels of the twentieth century but the name Harper is a little harsh. Her real name is Nell Harper Lee. Harper is also the name of one of the main characters from Angels in America by Tony Kushner. I say give the child whatever name you like and just nickname her Scout.

— AYN353 9/15/2006

So much nicer for a boy than a girl I think.

— Anonymous User  11/12/2006

Sources:

The Best Baby Name Book by Sue Nicholson.

http://www.behindthename.com/name/harper

http://www.behindthename.com/comment/search.php?terms=harper

http://www.behindthename.com/name/harper

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    I love Harper 🙂 I’ve never heard it on a boy, I mean I know it can be used for a boy or a girl but I like it much better for a girl.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      do you know any girl Harper’s?

      • 3

        Sophia said,

        Not personally, no, but I’ve found a few on my “travels” in the birth section. Harper Kate (sisters Charlotte and Brooklyn), Harper Olive (sister Poppy), Harper Willow (sister Avery and brother Hunter), Harper Louis and also Charlotte Harper, Peyton Harper (brother Mason), Beau Harper (sister Taylor and brothers Lachlan, Jesse and Noah) and then one little girl Harper with no middle name with a sister called Sienna.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        Harper Louis is nice 🙂 thanks for sharing all the Harpers 🙂

  2. 5

    Coralie said,

    I like the sound of Harper. However, I probably wouldn’t use the name; on a girl, she’s not quite as feminine as my other choices, but he’ll have gone to the girls by the time I could use it, so I wouldn’t name a boy Harper, either. And surname names are getting a bit trendy… I do like the literary association, though…

    I know a female Harper, I believe she’s in first grade… Her brother is Cade, I think.

  3. 7

    Bewildertrix said,

    It’s ugh, sorry, Anna. This surname always reminds me of harpies or one who nags constantly.

  4. 9

    Young Christian Woman said,

    I would never use it, but I see the appeal for either gender. It’s not quite my style. It makes me think of the Anne McCaffrey Pern book series, where the harpers are singers/musicians and teachers, and also of Harper Lee.

    (Though if Harper wasn’t her first name, it’s probably rather like naming your little girl Gates and holding up (Cheryl) Gates McFadden as an example.)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

