Name for today-15th April

Dorian

Dorian is a boys name.

Dorian comes from the Greek word “doron” which means gift.

The picture of Dorian Gray is where the name originated it is written by Oscar Wilde.

Doris is one of the four main tribes of ancient Greece.

Popularity Baby Name Wizard.

  • #442 in United States
  • #498 in Canada (Quebec)

Variants/Nicknames: Doran, Dore, Dorey, Doron, Dory.

Comments on Dorian:

I, personally, think Dorian is a brilliant name. I’ve loved it since reading Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde about five years ago. It was a brilliant book and I fell in love with the name. It’s uncommon without being too “out there”, it’s strong, masculine and I nearly always love literature names. 10/10.

Dorian is a wonderful name in my opinion. It is rich in Ancient history. It also has a wonderful sound to it as well. This is a favorite of mine.

— EgYpTiAn PrInCeSs 4/24/2007

Sources:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20100518000547AA6MF2g

The Best Baby Name Book by Louise Nicholson.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diego

http://www.babynamewizard.com/namipedia/boy/dorian

http://www.behindthename.com/comment/search.php?terms=dorian

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    I know one little Dorian with two older sisters called Lena and Noa. I think it’s a lovely name 🙂

  2. 3

    Young Christian Woman said,

    I rather like this name; love the meaning. I’ve never read the novel, but it’s one of the main reasons I would not use this name.

    I like a lot of the dor names–Theodore, Dorian, Dorrin, Doriana, Doris, Dorotea, Teodora, Theodora, Dorothea, Dorothy, Dorrit, Dorri/Dorry/Dorrie/Dori/Dory/Dorie, Doris, Doreen, Dorinda… in final analysis I probably won’t use any of them, though Teodora and Dorotea regularly make my list.

    Would like Dora too if it weren’t a children’s cartoon character.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      I love Dora, especially Isadora & Pandora. I quite like Theo & Thea but not so fond of Theodore/Theodora. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. 5

    Coralie said,

    I love Dorian (and Florian, too, if it didn’t sound so much like “flora”… :-(). I don’t know any, but I’d be thrilled to meet one. For me, Dorian is one of those names that I like, but wouldn’t use, for no apparent reason (weird, but true).

    I love Dor- and -dor/a names, too! Theodore, Dorian, Dorothy, Dorothea, Isadora, and Pandora (all though I *do* think of the myth…) are my favorites. 🙂

    Actually, now that I think about it, I’m a fan of the ‘or’ sound in general- Aurora, Cora, Coralie (in case that sounded biased, it’s NOT my real name:-)), Cordelia, Fiorella, Florence, Georgia, Georgiana, Georgina, Honora, Laura, Oriana, Portia… The list never ends! 🙂

  4. 7

    Coralie said,

    Coraline is pretty, though it reminds me only of the book and movie. Which is fine, only I prefer names with more history.

    I do like Flora… In Florian’s case, the “flora” part is pretty feminine, though, having to do with flowers and all…

  5. 9

    Sophia said,

    Ooh, I also know a little boy called Darien (pronounced DAR-ee-un) with two sisters called Keziah and Arieal.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

