Name for today- April 7th

By fimb

Ciaran

Ciaran is a boys name.

It is said KEER-awn.

It means little black haired one. The Irish word Ciar means black or dark.

Two important Irish saints, Ciaran of Saighir and Ciaran of Clonmacnois.

Popularity: #33 in Ireland, #115 in Scotland

Variants/Nicknames:Ciaren, Kiaran, Kiraren, Kyran, , Kieran, Keiran, Kieren, Kieron, Keiron.

Comments on Ciaran:

I like Ciaran SO much more than Kieran. I’ve recently seen it on a few girls in other parts of the country; that is so wrong. Ciaran has a perfectly good feminine– Ciara.

I have named my baby Ciaran, I just loved this spelling, that is one of the reasons I choose this name. I think it is such a strong sounding name.

— Anonymous User  11/10/2006

Sources:

The Best Baby Name Book by Sue Nicholson.

http://www.babynamewizard.com/namipedia/boy/ciaran

http://www.behindthename.com/name/ciara10n

http://www.flickr.com/photos/fimbrethil/4205903368/

http://www.behindthename.com/comment/search.php?terms=ciaran

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    There’s a boy at my school with this name, this spelling, and I know a Ruby Ciara (like Keira/Kirra).

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Ruby Ciara is beautiful I think I prefer the Keira spelling what about you?

      • 3

        Sophia said,

        I think I like it spelt Ciara better, but pronunciation could be confusing (up until recently I wasn’t sure if it was “Keira” or “Sierra”/”Siarra”) so for the sake of convenience I think Keira does a better job haha

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I thought it was Sierra so I definitely prefer Keira.

  2. 5

    Sophia said,

    PS Cute photo! Is that the child of someone you know or just a random photo?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

