Name for 24th January- Jethro

Biblical:From the Hebrew name יִתְרוֹ (Yitro), which was derived from the Hebrew word יֶתֶר (yeter) meaning “abundance”. Jethro was the father of Moses’s wife Zipporah in the Old Testament. A famous bearer of the name was Jethro Tull (1674-1741), an English inventor and agriculturist. (behindthename.com)

Nicknames & Variations:
Jeth, Jett, Jethroe, Jetro (nameberry.com)

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    My little sister Scarlett was going to be Jethro if she was a boy.

  2. 3

    Sophia said,

    I think it’s pretty cool but I’m glad Scarlett was a girl because if she had’ve been a boy my name and hers could’ve got kinda confusing (Jessie and Jethro).

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Jessie & Jethro would have been a little confusing! Is your full name Jessie? You wouldn’t name siblings names starting with the same letter then?

      • 5

        Sophia said,

        Yeah, Jessie isn’t short for anything. Actually, my parents named me Jessie-May, hyphenated, but they made a mistake on the birth certificate and left out the hyphen, which I’m actually pleased about. When I was little a lot of people called me Jessie-May though.
        No, I don’t think I’d ever give my kids names starting with the same letter. I mean, I’d definitely never have a theme going, but even, say, two out of three I don’t really like. I used to also have an aversion to siblings’ names ending in the same sound, like all “a”, but now I don’t mind that, in fact my three top names right now, in a sibset, are Sofia, Luca (boy) and Isaiah.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        I don’t think I would like a hyphen in my name either. Thats nice those three, because they are quite different sounding dominant Sofi, Luc & Isai you don’t notice so much they end the same.

  3. 7

    Bewildertrix said,

    I did like it until that show made it almost “cool” in the bogan world. Seriously, when you see Jethro mentioned amongst names like Tiarnah, Jorjah and Brayden the appeal wears off!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

