Name for 23rd January-Jonah

English, Biblical; From the Hebrew name יוֹנָה (Yonah) meaning “dove”. This was the name of a prophet swallowed by a fish, as told in the Old Testament Book of Jonah. He emerged from the fish alive three days later. His story was popular in the Middle Ages, but the name did not become common until after the Protestant Reformation. (behindthename.com)

Meaning: Dove.

Nicknames & Variations:
Yunus, Yonah, Jona, Giona, (nameberry.com)

Global Popularity (babynamewizard.com)

  • #86 in Canada (British Columbia)
  • #137 in United States
  • #139 in Canada (Alberta)
  • #256 in Norway
  • #364 in Canada (Quebec)
  • #420 in Scotland

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    I don’t know any Jonahs but I knew a Jonas, with a little brother called Darcy and a little sister called Asha.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I have met one with a sister Scarlett. Jonas is pretty cool too! I am warming to Darcy but don’t like Asha.

  2. 3

    Sophia said,

    Jonas is okay I guess but whenever I say it I think of The Jonas Brothers EW.
    I really don’t like Darcy on a boy, I can deal with it on a girl, and Asha is all right
    for a girl but I really love Asher (for a boy). My old teacher had a baby boy a
    year and a half ago and they named him Asher Taree. Taree is Aboriginal and it means fig tree. Not long before he was born she’d had a dream that the baby was
    born and his name was Taree and a fig tree also featured in her dream, and
    when she found out the Taree means fig tree she had to include it in his name 🙂
    His older brother and sister are called Nicholas (Nickel) and Annabelle (Annie).

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Jonas Brothers? Darcy- reminds me of Bridget Jones! Asher Taree is nice, Asher fits well with Nicholas & Annabelle 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

