The beast- Anders Roslund & Borge Hellstrom

“She’s called Ida. She knows why, it’s because Marwin was so keen on that book about Emil and Ida. So her Mum and Dad figured her name should be Ida. It’s ugly. She thinks its horrid. Sandra is nice or Isidora. Imagine being called Ida.” (pg 6)

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Hee hee! I’ve also heard it used as a prime example of an ugly old name in a film too. I forget the film.

    I love it but really prefer EE da which is really unintuitive here in NZ. There are lots of Idas in my family tree as well as a few Adas. I love the short old names that were so frequent and mainstream a few generations back.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      EE-da is prettier I think too, I love Ada, but its so close to the trendy Ava. What some other short girls names you like?
      I have been loving Marla & Emmett lately after watching two seasons of Project Runway nonstop nearly this weekend, back to work tomorrow.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

