Name for 5th January- Dominic

Saint Dominic  = http://thepracticingcatholic.wordpress.com/2008/08/09/portrait-of-st-dominic/

Saints (wikipedia)

English: From the Late Latin name Dominicus meaning “of the Lord”. This name was traditionally given to a child born on Sunday. Several saints have borne this name, including the 13th-century founder of the Dominican order of friars. It was in this saint’s honour that the name was first used in England, starting around the 13th century. It is primarily used by Catholics. (Behindthename.com)

Baby Name Wizard, Global Popularity of  Dominic
#39 in Germany
#70 in Canada (Alberta)
#75 in Canada (British Columbia)
#92 in Australia (New South Wales)
#93 in United States
#97 in England
#159 in Canada (Quebec)
#159 in Scotland
#400 in Norway

nameberry.com– Latin: Belonging to the lord.

Variations:
Dominy, NickDomino, Dominique, Domenique, Dominik, Domingo, Demenico, Domenico, Demingo, Domonkos, Domenic, Dom,DominickDomini, Dominie, Dom, Domenic, Domenique, Domini,Dominick, Dominie, Domino, Dominy, Domo, Nickie.

International Variations:
Txomin (Basque) Domenge (Catalan) Dominique (French) Domenico,DomingoMenico (Italian) DominikDonekNiki (Polish) Domingos(Portuguese) Dimitru (Romanian) DimaDimitreDmitriDmitrik,Mitya (Russian) ChumaChuminChumingaDomenicoDomicio,DomingoDominguezMingo (Spanish) Dmitro (Ukrainian)

Dominic Bernard Patrick Monaghan  
8 December 1976 (age 33)




4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Ooooh Dominic Monaghan. Walked past him on Lambton Quay and met eyes. I was stupidly excited. I was unlucky enough only to see the one LOTR star over the periods they were in town. One! So unfair. Everyone else seems to have spotted and/or even met many of them.

    Dominic is nice enough but I truly dislike the nickname Dom and it’s so inevitable too.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Lucky you getting to met him 🙂 But sad you didn’t get to meet others 😦
      I love Dominic but hate Dom, do you think if you always pushed for Nic you might be okay?

  2. 3

    Bewildertrix said,

    You’d definitely have to be clear about it, but really, it’s pretty intuitive. I’m sure there are lots of Dominics out there that use Nic over Dom.

    People shouldn’t automatically default to any nickname unless informed otherwise, it’s rude although I know it happens a lot. I used to get Kel frequently, without any prompting from me, and hated it because it can come out like “cow” 😛

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      I hate how people assume nicknames too I always check at work cause a lot of kids go by nickname theres an ollie, lachie, lexie and so forth.
      I can hear an Australian saying Kel and it coming out like “cow”.
      Sometimes I wish my name was longer and I could have a nickname I had a friend that called me Ani(Annie) for a while. My Nan’s mum was Annie but I’m not named after her.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

