Name for 2nd January- Bruno

Derived from the Germanic element brun meaning “brown”. Saint Bruno of Cologne was a German monk of the 11th century who founded the Carthusian Order. The surname has belonged Giordano Bruno, a philosopher burned at the stake by the Inquisition (Behindthename.com)

Baby Name Wizard

  • #71 in Spain
  • #445 in Canada (Quebec)
  • #801 in United States
6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sebastiane said,

    I adore Bruno. I wish he was appreciated more in the English speaking world. There is just something so sweet and lovable about Bruno.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      He gorgeous! I knew a blonde curly haired blue eyed Bruno when I was on a teaching placement. I also knew a Felix with big brother Ivor.

  2. 3

    Sophia said,

    I adore this name, but whenever I say it now I think of the movie. Not a good thing.

  3. 5

    Bewildertrix said,

    A woman who visits the blog has a Bruno (I think I’ve mentioned this) and the movie reference doesn’t seem to have been an issue for them. Still, irksome.

    I’m not sure how I feel about it. I think most people here would find it comical in an overly macho way. Or, think of a dog. I love -o names though.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Have you seen the movie? I love o names too! I found some new ones recently that I should post if only I could find which baby name book the piece of paper was inside! I really should order them better. It has a slightly dog name feel to me too which puts me off a little.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

