Name for 14th December- Freya

Norse Mythology: From Old Norse Freyja meaning “lady”. This is the name of the goddess of love and beauty in Norse mythology. She claimed half of the heroes who were slain in battle and brought them to her realm in Asgard. (Behindthename.com)

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Loads of saucy baggage, particularly the dwarf group sex she engaged in for a bit of bling. I guess it was a really, really, really nice necklace 😛 Still, a powerful and major player goddess.

    That aside, I do like it. I also like that it has a Scottish flavour too. It’s considered a traditional name in Shetland. Certainly been used a long time there.

    I haven’t heard it very much around here and I do wonder if the bread has anything to do with it. I would have expected in the top 100 well before Hazel appeared. I know it’s a hot name in England. There’s also a lingerie line called Freya.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      What about dwarf group sex lol?? Theres the bread Freya? too or Indian food Freiya? but is that said differently? Freya has a similar feel to Hazel it has that both hard and soft sounding sounds. I didn’t know about the underwear.

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        Just one of her many ‘exploits’ 😛

        It was nice to see a Freya in the most recent Herald BAs. I think the very popular bread will be a slight deterrent. It seems all the regular Brit favs are rising e.g Poppy, Isla and Ruby but Freya is nowhere to be seen. Another name I frequently associate with that lot, is Imogen. Big in the UK but only hovers outside the top 100 here. I think it was #100 exactly a few years ago and disappeared again. It would be lovely to see more Imogens. I’m truly surprised it isn’t top 40 by now. Such a genuinely lovely replacement for Madison/Maddison.

        On that note, I also noticed Madeline has GONE and Madeleine is #100. What the hell happened? I can’t believe Kiwis find Madison/Maddison superior. They should not be #17 and #27 *cringes*

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I am going to pop over to your blog today have been so busy, graduated with hubby yesterday.
        Oh I thought Freya would have been there with Poppy, Isla & Ruby. Where does Freya sit in the UK? Madison is awful!!
        What is the difference between Madeline and Madeleine? I know they are said differently. I truly hope Maddison/Madison move both out of the top 50 for 2009! When will the NZ stats be released?

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        Here in NZ, most would say them exactly the same, that is the general public defaults to -lyn over any -len, -line as in brine, or -leen.

        Freya is #19 in Scotland and #27 for England/Wales. It’s dropped a few spots since ’06.

        Around June next year for Kiwi stats. I think Madison might hold firm for a wee bit longer (or drop ever so slightly). It’s depressing to have two spellings of it both rank. It really is. We might also see Addison just sneak in. Might. If not next year, the year after. It’s so annoying to see it now cropping up in the Aussie BAs and that’s a bad sign. I was thinking Addison wouldn’t appeal so much because it’s so damn similar to Madison but I guess I was wrong.

        Congrats 🙂

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        Madeline- I would say Line. Madeleine- I would say Lyn?
        Wow its quite high in the England/Wales!
        Oh June is ages 😦 I hope Addison doesn’t sneak in, what about Emerson? (girls) I have only met one Addison I think and he was a boy!
        Thanks 🙂 how is the pregnancy going? did you get your scan date?

      • 7

        Bewildertrix said,

        Emerson/Emmerson could well be in there. I think I’ve seen more of those compared with Addison anyway.

        I think people get a little “lazy” and default to the -lyn a lot. I prefer -line as in brine myself. I’ve yet to hear anyone call out MAD eh line but I’ve heard a few MAD eh lyns. I think this is how my old workmate pronounced her first daughter’s name.

        The 29th or 30th if available. I still haven’t rung up. Slack, I know. I guess I’m not quite as excited as last time. I have my girl and boy now, so I’m not fussed what sex it is. I just hope the fetus is developing on schedule.

        I feel great compared to the icky first trimester 😛 I’m 19 weeks on Monday and although my tummy isn’t too noticeable in much of my clothing, I certainly feel much fuller/heavier down there. I made my first ever maternity clothing purchases too. I just wore my everyday clothes with the other two but I’m anticipating more weight gain with this one and Pumpkin Patch have some lovely things in my regular size (just have extra give in them). And I can use them post baby too which is a bonus. You’d never know they were maternity items. It’s an expensive business otherwise!

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        Hope you can get in for your scan still 🙂 are you going to find out what sex bub is? glad that you are feeling better 🙂 maternity clothes have come along way when I remember what my Mum wore 10 years ago! Its lucky you will still be able to wear them afterwards.

  2. 9

    Sophia said,

    Freya is quite a popular name where I live. Off the top of my head I can count six, one of them being my best friend 🙂
    I know you’re interested in sibsets, so I’ll deign to tell you all the Freyas siblings’ names 😉 But one of them has no siblings…
    1) Sophie and Eli
    2) Ruby
    3) Lauren
    4) Sam and Rani
    5) Seth and Susannah (Zannah)

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      Wow 6 is a lot, I know it is popular in UK but too tired to look up the rating.
      Freya & Ruby is pretty also Freya & Lauren. Thanks for sharing the sibsets 🙂
      Is Rani feminine or masculine? The pronunciation of Susannah what country is that?

      • 11

        Sophia said,

        Rani is a girl, pronounced RAH-nee.
        The bit in brackets, Zannah, was just her nickname, not the pronunciation. So it’s just Susannah pronounced how you’d expect, but everyone calls her Zannah.

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        Rani is quite pretty! Zannah is quite nice as a full name! Sorry for the confusion!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

