Name for 10th December- Eloise

English: From the Old French name Héloïse, which is probably from the Germanic name Helewidis, composed of the elements heil “hale, healthy” and wid “wide”. It is sometimes associated with the Greek word ‘ηλιος (helios) “sun” or the name Louise, though there is not likely an etymological connection. This name was borne in the 12th century by Saint Eloise, the wife of the French theologian Peter Abelard. She became a nun after her husband was castrated by her uncle.

There was a medieval English form of this name, Helewis, though it died out after the 13th century. In the 19th century it was revived in the English-speaking world in the form Eloise. (Behindthename.com)

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    Eloise is such a sweet name! When you say it it sounds kind of light and… wistful? I babysat a gorgeous 2-year-old with this name a while ago. Such a sweetie 🙂
    Brother’s name is Daniel.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      It does sound light and wistful and a lot fresher and lighter than Louisa or Louise to me. It has an old fashioned feel still though that I like.
      Daniel & Eloise seem like a classic pairing.

  2. 3

    Bewildertrix said,

    I see this regularly in the Aussie and Kiwi BAs. What I don’t understand is why so many Kiwis want to spell this Elouise? It annoys me.

    I find Élodie much fresher but Eloise is nice.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Elouise looks ugly!! I prefer Eloise to Elodie- someone said to me E-load of…. and it put me off also think it would get confused so easily with Melody.

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        I prefer AY lo dee although everyone would default to the English ELL oh dee.

        I see Lachlan spelt here as Lauchlan a lot too. I think we like our Us too much.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        Ay lo dee is much prettier!
        I prefer Lochlan, what is the traditional spelling?

      • 7

        Sophia said,

        I much prefer Ell-oh-dee, I’ve never heard it pronounced it the other way, but it sort of reminds me of names like Hayley and Kayleigh etc, which I strongly dislike. I think Lachlan is the traditional spelling, all the Lachlans I know spell it like that apart from one who is Lochlan. His parents spelt it like that because when he was born he looked all blue/green, like the Loch Ness Monster haha.

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        Hehe that is a funny story about Lochlan 😛 I have meet a couple of Lachlan’s I think it is more popular in Australia than NZ?

    • 9

      Sophia said,

      Elouise is not nearly as nice as Eloise. I love Elodie too 🙂

  3. 10

    Angie said,

    I recently came upon this blog post and I was just wondering if anyone can tell me the correct pronunciation of Eloise. Most everything I find says it is pronounced “el-o-eez” where I always just thought whenever I read the name that it was pronounced “el-o-ees” with a soft s sound rather than the “z” sound found in “Louise”. I much prefer the s sound but wouldn’t want to name my child a name that we were mispronouncing.

    • 11

      babynamelover said,

      I say it like L-O-Wees. Is that soft or hard sound?

      • 12

        Angie said,

        You say it the same way I do, (you wrote it out better phonetically…I forgot the W sound in there when I typed it)…glad to hear I’m not the only one that doesn’t say it with a “wheez” sound on the end☺. It just sounds softer and prettier to me somehow as “L-O-Wees.” Thanks so much!

      • 13

        babynamelover said,

        Thats okay I think its a beautiful name 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

