Name for 5th December- Allegra

English & Italian: Means “cheerful, lively” in Italian. It is not a traditional Italian name. It was borne by a short-lived illegitimate daughter of Lord Byron. (Behindthename.com)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sophia said,

    Gorgeous name 🙂 Apparently in America it’s the brand name of some kind of cough medicine or something? I’ve never heard of this so I don’t have any word association in that regard, I just think of it as a beautiful name. I’ve only ever encountered one Allegra in my life. She was 4-weeks-old and we met her family whilst camping. Her adorable older sisters were called Maya (May-uh) and Illeanna. I love Illeanna too 🙂

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I don’t get the cough medicine association either but it always crops up on forums about names! Allegra & Maya are pretty together how do you Illeanna? I have never heard of it before!

      • 3

        Sophia said,

        Haha did you mean how do you pronounce Illeanna? Ill-ee-ann-uh, pretty much exactly how it’s written. If it’s spelt Illeana, which I believe is the traditional Russian (?) spelling, it can also be pronounced Ill-ee-ahn-uh, but I prefer the -anna pronunciation, regardless of spelling.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        Its very long with lots of vowels I don’t think I like it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

