Name for 18th November- Oscar

English, Iris, Portuguese, Scandinavian, Irish Mythology.

Possibly means “deer lover”, derived from Gaelic os “deer” and cara “lover”. Alternatively, it may derive from the Old English name OSGAR or its Old Norse cognateÁSGEIRR, which may have been brought to Ireland by Viking invaders and settlers. In Irish legend Oscar was the son of the poet Oisín and the grandson of the hero Fionn mac Cumhail.

This name was popularized in continental Europe by the works of the 18th-century Scottish poet James Macpherson. Napolean was an admirer of Macpherson, and he suggested Oscar as the second middle name of his godson, who eventually became king of Sweden as Oscar I. Another notable bearer was the Irish writer and humourist Oscar Wilde (1854-1900) (Behindthename.com)

Baby Name Wizard

Origin of the name Oscar: derived from a Norman baronial name taken from a French place-name meaning “golden city.” Others think it is merely an invention of the novelist Fanny Burney, who used it for the hero in her novel Evelina (1778). From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman

  • #2 in Sweden
  • #20 in Denmark
  • #28 in Australia (Victoria)
  • #36 in Australia (New South Wales)
  • #39 in England
  • #42 in Spain
  • #57 in Norway
  • #63 in Germany
  • #92 in Ireland
  • #93 in Scotland
  • #119 in United States
  • #126 in Canada (British Columbia)
  • #281 in Canada (Quebec)
  • #324 in Canada (Alberta)
10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    What Isla could have been if she was a boy. Well, this or Fergus. I hadn’t really decided at the time. I’ve dropped both since. I still like them but I want to use a very unpopular name for my last child and Oscar is not it. Fergus works but I’ve just fallen out of love with it.

    Oscar has a very doggie vibe for me too but then I like Rex so that doesn’t really bother me terribly.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I love Fergus with the nickname Gus. I couldn’t believe how popular Oscar is all over the world! Corie has 2 Oscar’s in his 2-5 year old area in his centre.
      Rex is cool a lady emailed me awhile ago who was considering using Rex, I wonder whether she went with it.. Rex reminds me of the handyman at my primary school.

  2. 3

    SarahinJune said,

    I love the name Oscar. Sometimes I find it hard to get over the Oscar Meyer reference. Still, I’ve been playing with Oscar Zebedee, well, really all O/Z combos. I really dig the nn OZ. I guess Ozias would be a much simpler way of getting there though.

    • 4

      Bewildertrix said,

      Oscars here would almost always get Ozzy/Oz as the default nickname.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Who is Oscar Meyer? Oscar Zebedee is cool I also like Zebediah not sure if that is legit though? I don’t like the nickname Oz at all but Ozias is pretty cool I really like Elias at the moment.

      • 7

        Bewildertrix said,

        Oscar Mayer = processed meat e.g wieners etc.. An American ‘institution’. Not on our radar here but I know it from American films.

        The old ad for wieners: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNddW2xmZp8

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        Oh no wonder I hadn’t heard of it. Do you think many kiwis would have?

      • 9

        SarahinJune said,

        As bewildertrix said, It’s a wiener/bologne brand. Between the song and the bright red & yellow packaging it can be a bit much.

        It does speak very highly of his charm that despite the brand and despite the grouchy monster on sesame street (or maybe because of him) the name has began climbing our charts again.

      • 10

        babynamelover said,

        Its quite a catchy wee song 🙂 Maybe its been heard a lot and the name sticks in peoples mind. Its funny how other cartoon characters names have not had a new lease of life.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

