Tayla/Taylor SSA interesting

Tayla

1995- 1001

1998- 987

2006-928

 

Taylor (picked out interesting ones)

1979- 979

1989- 75

1992- 17

1993-2000 between 7-9

2008- 22

 

So although Tayla is not popular Taylor is for girls which is a little misleading.

 

 

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Remember that to most Americans Tayla and Taylor are two completely different names. The -or in Taylor is enunciated very clearly in many US accents whereas we, the Aussies and most Brits pronounce all -lar/lor/ler as plain LAH. We don’t distinguish between Taylor and Tayla/h or, for another example, Tyler and Tylah. It’s our non-rhotic accents. I suppose it’s why I’ve seen some Americans scratch their heads over Antipodean ‘re-spellings’ of Cooper, Connor, Ryder, Tyler etc To these posters, Coopah can’t logically still be Cooper. They’d say them differently.

    That was a ramble. I hope it made some sense.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Yup I got you that makes a lot of sense! Thanks for explaining all that Kellie.

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        And I was slightly misleading, it’s not so much the -or that’s clearly heard but that defined R that we drop. When I hear Connor or Tyler said in an American film it sounds more like CON err/TY lerr.

        That said, if I try to pronounce Conor as it really should be, it sounds so stupidly affected!

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        It sounds stuttery lol or is it lispy. I don’t like Conor with the long r so much.

  2. 5

    SarahinJune said,

    Taylor is an extremely common last name here in the states. I can’t understand it’s growing popularity w/ girls. I would always worry that my daughter would grow up and get married and become Taylor Taylor 😉

    • 6

      Bewildertrix said,

      Extremely common surname here in NZ too. I’m always surprised by how such run of the mill surnames become trendy first names. Taylor and Tyler are rather like the common as mud, Smith or Jones to me but I rarely see those as first names, thank goodness.

      • 7

        babynamelover said,

        Harrison is always a surname to me! Thank goodness alright lol, I haven’t met a kid called Hamilton yet but I have met a Conway and a Lawson which are last names to me. Have you met? saw any interesting ones in BA’?

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Hehe Taylor Taylor would be pretty funny. I don’t get the fascination with Taylor/Tayla I think its a awful name for a wee girl.

      • 9

        Bewildertrix said,

        Some sibsets can come off sounding like law firms! These are my children, Landon, Gates and Parker 😛 I can’t think of any really interesting ones in recent times. Just a Grainger and in an Aussie BA today a girl with the middle name of Lexington :O I really doubt it was a familial surname.

      • 10

        babynamelover said,

        Lexington like Lexi but sounding like a surname lol the dreaded Lexi. I see what you mean about law firm lol imagine it.
        Grainger where does that come from?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

