Name for yesterday- Betty

English: Diminutive of ELIZABETH (Behindthename.com)

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Laura said,

    I think Betty is a great nickname for the Name Elizabeth. I also love Betsy for a nickname for Elizabeth. Its one of those cute nicknames like Flora or Minnie. I do feel though that it is better to have it as a nickname then first name. You never know how yor child will feel when they grow up, it also leaves the name open for more nicknames!

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I agree 🙂 Some have become so widely used and known though that they are being used as full first names like Meg, Eliza & Beth. I would use Flora as a full what is the longer form? Although saying that I like Pippa but not Philippa and I probably wouldn’t use the longer form if I didn’t like it. hmm that doesn’t make much sense does it 🙂

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        Don’t worry, Anna, it’s the name of the Roman Goddess of Flowers. A full name for thousands of years 🙂

        Although, some people do think it should be a short form from Florence only. It’s funny, Flora is much older than Florence which at one time was unisex out of interest.

        I like Betty but I love Betsy.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        Thats interesting I didn’t know Flora was older although I knew it was Roman. Florence sounds older to me I don’t know why has a more musty feel Florence reminds me of old fashioned nurses and strange old medical equipment. Really Florence was unisex? I guess it does sound like it could go either way.
        Betsy seems so old fashioned to me, our car is “Betsy Boop” there was a wee girl on private practice called Betsy and I always felt like her name should be more modern something like Sophie etc. I think I prefer Betty, I also like Elsa & Elsie from Elizabeth.

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        http://www.behindthename.com/name/florence

        So, generally male once 😉 Wouldn’t fly these days would it?

        I’d call Flora ancient Roman so it really would predate Florence big time.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        No I don’t think it would work these days :P. Florentia is quite pretty what do you think of it?

  2. 7

    Laura said,

    I agree that some shortenings are preferable than the actual name! For example I love Leo for a boy, but am not to keen on Leonardo or Leonard
    Flora can be a nickname for florence, Floretta or Floris.
    Another nickname I love is Minty, obviously from Araminta! I love both nickname and name 😀

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      What about Leon or Leopold? I like those two 🙂 I prefer Flora to Florence she seems much more sprightly but Floretta and Floris are interesting thanks I’m going to write them down and think about them 🙂
      Minty is super cute I like Mint too 🙂 Ooh they have chocolate chip mint icecream at the shop but its expensive! its yum!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

