Name for 5th November- Grover

English: From a surname meaning “grove of trees” from Old English graf. A famous bearer was the American president Grover Cleveland (1837-1908), who popularized the name in the United States at the end of the 19th century. The name is now associated with a muppet character from the children’s television program ‘Sesame Street’. (Behindthename.com)

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SarahinJune said,

    Grover is pretty cool. I believe the kid makes the name, but w/ the little furry blue monster, he’d have a LOT of personality to live up to.

    • 2

      Dearest said,

      I love Grover, but Elmo is ten times better…
      I don’t think I would have the nerve to use either up front though…
      I prefer Elmo for the St Elmo’s Fire connection… Presidents have no importance to me…

      • 3

        babynamelover said,

        Elmo is pretty rocking! What other characters names do you like? What is the St Elmo’s fire connection? No I wouldn’t name my child after a President either.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      I really like both Grover & Homer but seems the cartoon characters will always be the first thing people think and they are a lot to live up to, guess its also like calling your child Angel, Princess or Patience.

  2. 5

    Bewildertrix said,

    I’d pity a boy with this name. I have to say it’s worse than Montgomery 😛 It also has a gross/rough sound I don’t like.

  3. 7

    Sebastiane said,

    Sorry, Grover is all dog name to me. I knew a guy named Grover and it still didn’t grow on me.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

