Name for today-Iris

Greek Mythology, English, German, Dutch, French: Means “rainbow” in Greek. Iris was the name of the Greek goddess of the rainbow. This name can also be given in reference to the English word (which derives from the same Greek source) for the name of the iris flower or the coloured part of the eye.

Baby name wizard

  • #31 in Iceland
  • #81 in Slovenia
  • #82 in Sweden
  • #192 in Norway
  • #215 in Scotland
  • #257 in Canada (British Columbia)
  • #341 in United States
  • #472 in Canada (Quebec)
8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Not a fan. I always want to say Virus!

    I’m also not a huge fan of the flower. I have to lover the flower/plant too, not just the name.

    In saying that I love the name Rose, but dislike roses as they are sooo high maintenance and scratch/prick you every chance they get. Of course, they are pretty things to look at (and sometimes smell) so they have that going for them.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Never even thought of virus! All I think of is the pretty purple ones πŸ™‚ Iris & Jay (m) would be a cool sibset I think Jay is deep royal blue for me, I know its a little matchy though. Hehe I like Rose too, I had a think going for Poppy but went off it after it become so popular, have always had a soft spot for Lilly too.
      DO you like any other flower/tree names?

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        Lots! Like you I suppose. Too many. I used the obvious Fleur. I want to use Flora but have concerns about the marg.

        For now, Juniper, Ivy, Marigold and Saffron sit high on my list. Juniper and Ivy are far more realistic. I like Juniper also because of the similarity with my Nan’s name June, who is like my honorary mother. June is also my middle but I’m not all that fond of it. I’d rather have Juniper as a middle myself e.g Dulcie Juniper/Sylvie Juniper. I really, really love those at present.

        If I could get away with it, it would make a nice middle for a boy too. A historical bearer being Saint Juniper who was active in the 13th century who was also known as “the renowned jester of the Lord” so associated with comedy. The juniper tree/shrub was also considered a symbol of feminine virtue. They’re not typically pretty to most but I just love cypress like evergreens.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        We like Flora a lot too πŸ™‚ Hubby see’s it on a wee blonde girl though all likelihood our kids will probably have darker hair but you never know.
        OOh Sylvie Juniper is gorgeous!! I really don’t like Dulcie and I don’t even know why!! I like Juniper too but hubby doesn’t so much it would work as a longer form of Juno! I like how Juniper is honoring for you if you have a girl you should definitely get it in there as a middle :). I like Ivy, Marigold and Saffron too. Particularly like Marigold in the middle. I like Magnolia too to get Maggie. Mine would be Iris, Violet, Rose, Marigold, Magnolia, Flora, Hyacintha, Jessamine, Juniper, Linnea & Lavender. That is a lot lol.
        Need a strong name in front with Juniper as a middle for a boy, but I can see it going either way πŸ™‚

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        Hah! I imagine a wee Flora to have dark hair like the Anna Paquin character off The Piano. My kids are blonde and another is likely to be although I’m dying for a strawberry blonde like their father was as a child. He went blonde later.

        I was curious about both Dulcie and Sylvie in the English rankings and they were both about the same. I would have expected far more Sylvie use. 59 Sylvies and 57 Dulcies. Incidentally, other names I like fell around the same placings e.g Betsy and Orlaith. I like that Sophie is a full name in it’s own right being the French Sylvia but Dulcie was never traditionally just a nickname for anything in England. It’s a recoinage of the medieval Dowse/Duce. One very old Dows- name I did come across a few years ago was Dowsabel/Dousabel which literally means “sweet beautiful”. Very sugary πŸ˜›

        Magnolia is beautiful. It feels very old Southern (as in the US) belle. Sister to Eulalia and Scarlett πŸ˜‰ I love the white magnolia flower. It’s lovely.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        Oh was her name Flora? I love “The Piano”!! My brother was born red but went blonde very quickly, My Dad’s Mum was red but went blonde. My Dad’s brother had red hair and its stayed red and my youngest brothers hair has stayed red too.

        I would have thought Sylvie was way more popular than Dulcie! what about Sylvia?
        Is Orlaith? said Or-luh?
        Dousabel would be a pretty middle πŸ™‚

        What do you think of Hyacintha or Jessamine?

  2. 7

    Bewildertrix said,

    Jessamine is lovely. I much prefer it or Jessamy to the more common form, Jasmine.

    Hyacintha I want to like but it’s her: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaDcJyLzgnQ

    Well, she’s a Hyacinth but she’s insufferable nonetheless. My grandparents loved this show.

    Sylvia doesn’t feel as fresh and light as Sylvie and if I used Sylvia I’d never make use of it, I’d just call her Sylvie anyway πŸ˜›

    Orlaith is OR la, yes.

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      I don’t like Jessamy at all. If I watch that you tube it will put me off? I don’t want to be put off hehe πŸ˜›
      Sylvie is definitely fresher than Sylvia!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

