Name for 29th October- Montgomery

English: From an English surname meaning “GUMARICH‘s mountain” in Norman French. A notable bearer of this surname was Bernard Montgomery (1887-1976), a British army commander during World War II. (Behindthename.con)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Horrible toff/ponce name almost the equivalent of Marmaduke or Montmorency ๐Ÿ˜› I can’t take it seriously. I just want to giggle.

    Bernard Montgomery was frequently known as just Monty which I don’t think much more of being one of those cute nicknames the ‘elite’ seem to use e.g Bunty, Tiggy, Kanga, Jonty, Tuppy. Monty is also the name of Nan’s aged mini-dachshund although his pedigree name is Mini de Montfort. I think Montfort is in the same vein as Montgomery I think.

    The fact that I’ve seen this mentioned as being used on a few American girls is just gut wrenching. It literally means ‘manpower’.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Reminds me of Addison Montgomery off Private Practice. I love the nickname Monty!
      On girls that is super crazy!! It does make me think of an old man though you are right!

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        Oh was that her surname! She had a doubly bad name then ๐Ÿ˜›

        And Monty is certainly a step up from Bunty and Kanga but I also think it’s in far more general use like Jonty. You certainly see it lots in the British BAs (not just Telegraph/Times) and I have seen in the Aussie ones too.

        I think this is another case where I prefer the nickname to the full name.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        She did :P. Me too I prefer Monty to Montgomery, hubby gives it a thumbs down anyway.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

