Raphael or Raphaela

Which do you prefer and why 🙂

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    marilyn said,

    I like Raphael because I like the nickname Rafe for a boy. I can’t think of any girl nicknames I like as much.

  2. 3

    Sophia said,

    I prefer Raphael because I think it sounds kind of mysterious and romantic, and Raphaella is kind of pretty but in the same thread as all the other -ella names, which I dislike intensely. I like Raphaelle for a girl though.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Raphael is romantic and I think Raphaella is too. I like Arabella but I really don’t like Gabriella thats a bit weird. Raphaelle makes me think of Gabrielle which I don’t like either lol. I like Gabriel though. Very twisty turny round the bend I am 🙂 Do you like any other elle names?

      • 5

        Sophia said,

        I went through I phase a while ago of liking -elle on the end of unusual boys’ names, like Ishmaelle and Dashielle. I’ve never liked Gabrielle though, despite liking Gabrielle. I love Giselle and Emmanuelle, and I quite like Annabelle, Isabelle (but, strangely, not Isabella), Mirabelle, Estelle and just Elle/Belle.
        I also like Ariela, Estella/Stella and Della but not Ella or Bella. I guess I’m picky with -elle/-ella names, just like you 😉

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        OOh Ishmaelle and Dashielle are pretty. I like Emmanuelle too but never got to like the sounds of Giselle not sure why. I prefer Elle or Belle to Ella/Bella.
        Mirabelle would be quite pretty in the middle 🙂
        I prefer Arielle to Ariela. I like both Adele and Adela. Zella is quite pretty 🙂
        I am picky 😛

      • 7

        Sophia said,

        Oops, I meant to say “I’ve never liked Gabrielle though, despite liking GABRIEL.” You probably knew what I meant.

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        I got you 😛

  3. 9

    Bewildertrix said,

    Raphaela because I’d be tempted to never use Raphael and use the stand alone Rafe (RAYF) instead which is not a traditional nickname for Raphael at all. It’s the the very old medieval phonetic form of Ralph (which ideally should be said with a long A as in Ralph Fiennes) not to rhyme with ALF. It’s why I’d never go with the Ralph spelling these days. Too confusing for most people.

    I’d dearly love to use Rafe as a first name but it a. Doesn’t sound wonderful with our surname which as the long A sound and b. It sounds like a rather unpleasant word at times. Yell it across a parking lot or supermarket and people might hear other things than Rafe.

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      I definitely have gone off Raphael lately, its a bit h’y with Hamilton anyway. I do like Raphaella though put her on my list and ask hubby when he’s in a good mood 😛
      Rafe- RAYF always seemed weird to me I always want to add and e sounding on the end not sure why.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

