Name for Yesterday- Minerva

Roman Mythology & English.

Possibly derived from Latin mens meaning “intellect”, but more likely of Etruscan origin. Minerva was the Roman goddess of wisdom and war, approximately equivalent to the Greek goddess Athena. It has been used as a given name in the English-speaking world since after the Renaissance (Behindthename.com).

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dearest said,

    I love Minerva… I thought I didn’t for a long time but I do… Just like Millicent and Mildred of all things… I LOVE Minerva ^^

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I prefer Minerva to Ginerva I was talking about that with someone on here. I like Millicent and on the fence about Mildred I have used her in combo’s as second middle 🙂

      • 3

        Dearest said,

        I can’t stand Ginevra… She’s nice enough, but I would never name my own child that… If I want the Ginny nickname, I’ll use Virginia…
        Mildred is a lot to swallow, I know! ^^

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I agree Virginia is better for Ginny. Millicent is more usable than Mildred at the moment. Hubby doesn’t like Millicent 😦

  2. 5

    Dearest said,

    I think Millicent is lovely ^^


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

