Name for today- Cordelia

English. From Cordeilla, possibly a Celtic name of unknown meaning. According to Geoffrey of Monmouth, Cordeilla was the youngest of the three daughters of King Lear and the only one to remain loyal to her father. When adapting the character for his play ‘King Lear’ (1606), Shakespeare altered the spelling to Cordelia. (Behindthename.com)

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SarahinJune said,

    I have always loved Cordelia. In Anne of Green Gables she asks them to please call her Cordelia because it’s the most romantic name she can imagine. The nicknames are awesome too. Cora, Cordi, Delia… I’m partial to Cora. She’s never left my top 5. I’m partial to Cordelia Winter, but I’ve got a small list of middles that I think go nicely.

  2. 9

    shay120 said,

    I love Cordelia.

  3. 11

    Bewildertrix said,

    It’s okay. I prefer Cornelia myself. I’m not sure I like the COR- sound all that much. I always wished Anne Shirley could have picked something lovelier. It’s not romantic to me but it is ornamental and tragic.

    Oh and beats Goneril and Regan by far 😛 Definitely the best Lear sister name.

    • 12

      babynamelover said,

      Cornelia has never appealed to me at all, I think its cause Cordelia gives me both Cora and Delia I quite like Delia. I guess its cause I really like Delilah 🙂

      Goneril is awful! I don’t like Regan either.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

