Cleo/Clio/Klio/Clea/Clare/Claire

Which do you prefer and why? πŸ™‚

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    appellationmountain said,

    Funny, I never see these linked, except for in my personal life. πŸ™‚

    Claire is a family name for us. We could’ve used Clare, too, but it looks masculine and/or surname-y to me, so we went for the slightly French Claire. (Even though we’re not French. Even slightly.)

    Klio might be defensible, based on the Greek, but to me it’s just Kardashian. So our daughter is Claire Caroline Wren, nn Clio. Actually, we flipped back and forth between Clio and Cleo for a while and sometimes I regret not sticking with Cleo – it’s the more intuitive spelling. But if I were putting Clio/Cleo on a birth certificate, I’d opt for Clio. It’s more muse, less Queen-of-the-Nile – IMHO.

    I love Clea, and might’ve used it if my husband had veto’d Clio. But that -o ending just grabs me. Actually, I love a vowel ending other than -a. Alexei, Dante, Matteo … Clio, Romy … And so we went with Clio.

    But obviously, I like the whole set.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ I have never been a huge fan of Claire- long story short an ex broke up with me and quickly started going out with a Claire after a long relationship now I am coming back round to it, I prefer it spelt Claire, although I went to school with a Clare.
      What is Kardasian? Claire Caroline Wren Wren is very pretty πŸ™‚ does Caroline and Wren have family meaning or special meaning? So you prefer Clio because of the assocation rather than the spelling, for me Cleo looks better. I knew a sibset Cleo & Xanthe.
      Me too I love o endings Juno is on our list as is Ngaio (A Māori name). I also have so more names ending in o that hubby doesn’t like that I can’t remember right this minute. I knew a wee Alexei he’s Russian. There was a Dante on tv last night. I like Matteo but my Brother is Matthew so too close. Is Romy female or male?

  2. 3

    brooke said,

    Claire, by far. My number one combo is (and has been for ages) Claire Matilda. I think my love of the name started with watching McLeod’s Daughters and over the years I’ve just never stopped loving it. I quite like Clare too, but not as much. Cleo reminds me of goldfish. I worked out why the other night while playing trivial pursuit – Pinocchio’s goldfish in the Disney film was called Cleo! Clio I think is a variety of Renault (and also reminds me of champagne) and Klio just looks like someone spelt Kilo wrong.
    Clea is …quite pretty. I’ve never really thought about it before. If I had to put these names in order it would go Claire, Clare, Clea, Cleo, Clio, Klio.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Claire Matilda is pretty! Does Matilda have a special meaning? I like trivial pursuit! πŸ™‚ I didn’t know that about Cleo! What do you mean by variety of Renault?
      and Kilo like measurement? I think Clea is pretty too. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  3. 5

    brooke said,

    Matilda is after the Roald Dahl character/book, which I love. Renault is a type of car, and I think you can get Renault Clios, like you get Nissan Bluebirds, or Toyota Corollas.
    Lol yeah kilo like the measurement.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Roald Dahl of course πŸ™‚ I must read some of this stories again! Oh I see what you mean about Renault! I see what you mean Klio and Kilo are pretty close.

  4. 7

    James said,

    Clea, is to me, the most beautiful name in existence. No other name has so much meaning to me. I have loved a beautiful girl, and now woman, named Clea, for 16years. Unfortunately we are not together, but to meet her is to love her, and her name reflects her beauty.

    I find it is a very pretty word in its own right. I find the vowels ‘e’ and ‘a’ invoke a feeling of freshness or purity. To write, the name flows so easily, one fluid motion is all it takes to right it, so much so that it is hard to stop. Not that I would ever want to.

    Its not a common name, but its becoming more and more known. Its just so pretty.

  5. 8

    GBM said,

    Clea, is to me, the most beautiful name in existence. I have loved a girl, and now a woman, named Clea for over 15 years. She is exquisite on every level, the pinnacle of beauty, and the name is a reflection of that. I think the name is so pretty in its own right.

    I think the vowels, the ‘a’ and the ‘e’ invoke a feeling of freshness and purity. The name flows to write, the whole words comes out in one fluid motion, its almost hard to stop…not that I would ever want to.

    For me Clea is the name for sure, its unique, its elegant and befitting a princess.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

