Top 100 Girls Norway 2008

Gosh these are so interesting!

1. Emma, 2. Linnea, 3. Thea, 4. Ida, 5. Nora, 6.Ingrid, 7.Julie, 8.Sofie, 9.Mia, 10.Anna.

How to say these ones? Vilde, Tuva, Hedda, Oda, Maja, Eline, Silje, Tiril, Mille, Ingeorg, Pernille, Synne, Live, Signe, Solveig, Evle, Mie, Iselin, Oline and Iben? can anyone help please?

Love/like these- Mathilde, Mina, Mathea, Johanne, Astrid, Caroline, Ada, Dina, Madelen, Henriette, Tilde & Helena.

Interesting: Ane is 53 whilst Anne is 82, Karoline is 43 whilst Caroline is 63, Isabella is 62 whilst Isabell is 97, Marie is at 21 (more common to me as a first name), Linnea is at 2 whilst Linea is at 64, Hanna 35/Hannah 36, Maja 31 and Kaja 52, Celine 42 whilst Celina 61, Mathilde 24 whilst Matilde 92 & Tilde 93, Helene at 29 whilst Helena at 99, Sofie 8 whilst Sofia 49.

Surprised by popularity: Julie (7), Frida (22), Oda (25), Martine (26), Aurora (27), Jenny (37), Amanda (44), Astrid (59), Lisa (80), Michelle (81), Stella (98).

23 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dearest said,

    Well this makes me smile ^^

    Vilde – VEEL-deh
    Tuva – TOO-vah
    Hedda – HEAD-ah
    Oda – OO-dah
    Maja – just like Maya
    Eline – e-LEE-neh
    Silje – SEEL-yeh
    Tiril – TEE-rill (hard ‘r’ sound)
    Mille – MILL-eh
    Ingeborg – INGE-borg (hard ‘r’ sound)
    Pernille – per-NILL-eh (hard ‘r’ sound again)
    Synne – SIN-eh
    Live – LEE-veh
    Signe – SIG-neh
    Solveig – SOL-vyeg
    Erle – ER-leh (hard ‘r’ sound)
    Mie – MEE-eh (like Mia only with an ‘e’ sound at the end)
    Iselin – EES-eh-linn
    Oline – o-LEE-neh
    Iben – EE-ben (originally a boys’ name but has been seriously hijacked by girls lately)

    So, for the interesting things, Ane is pronounced differently than Anne, the stress being on the initial A rather than the double N, which makes it more modern sounding and similar to for example Mie and Maja and other short names with the stress on the first syllable…
    I think I explained the K vs. C phenomenon for you, but I think what’s really interesting is how so many similar names are on the list ^^ It’s like it’s not a list of a hundred, but a list of around 60 because so many of the names are so similar…

    As for popularity surprises, the only ones I’m surprised at are Stella and Oda…

    What made you surprised about all those names being on the list?

    My favourite on the list is Live, but you can also use Liva or Lova so I don’t cry too much about it being s popular!

    • 2

      Dearest said,

      I forgot to add:
      I thought maybe Selma would surprise you, since it’s seen as very unfashionable in the English speaking world, any comments on that?

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      I quite like Iselin 🙂 and Oline 🙂 thanks for sharing all those with me 🙂
      It is there is lots of names that have multiple spellings so it does end up a much shorter list.
      I think I was suprised how some names were so popular in USA, Australia, England and New Zealand but not in Norway. Does Norway’s trend’s follow any other country?
      Julie- seems so dated to me my Cousins Mum is Julie and I havent met any under about 45 years. Same with Jenny, Amanda, Lisa & Michelle although more late 20’s.
      Frida- is this a tradtional Norway name along with Oda?
      Martine- is this french?
      Aurora- is awesome didn’t expect to see it so high up in a country’s list 🙂 Astrid the same and its french too?

  2. 5

    Dearest said,

    A lot of names popular in English speaking countries don’t translate well into Norwegian, take Madison as an example. It’s just not pretty said in Norwegian!!
    Names like Emma to take the obvious example sound great in Norwegian, but it’s a fine line… Claudia for instance would work, and has been used in Norway at the beginning of the 1900’s, but people today just don’t see the appeal!

    As for trend following, we tend to be a year or two behind our neighbours to the east, the Swedes, but we have more names with an international flair in our top 100 than they have… Milla for instance is a typical Swedish name to Norwegians and it was the biggest climber of 2008 on the Norwegian charts! I would also say that we follow the USA to some extent, but it’s less obvious… Norwegians in general seem to love the US for some reason…

    Julie is pronounced differently in Norway, YU-lee-eh… she’s falling, but has been high on the lists since the mid 90’s..

    Jenny is considered hip in Norway, Michelle (and Isabelle and Natalie and so on) is the typical choice of young urban parents who mainly started drinking and smoking around the age of 11… Amanda is just part of the ‘soft’ trend. If you think of Linnea and Emma on the top, Amanda fits right in… Lisa has just always been around, much like Christian…
    Frida is a Norse name yes. It means ‘beautiful’ and is the source of the ‘rid’ parts of Sigrid, Astrid, Ingrid and such… Oda is German, same source as Audrey meaning ‘wealth’. In Norway we also have Aud, which is really, really dated! Oda is fresh and nice in comparison!
    I’m sure Martine is French, but it has a loooong tradition in Norway and we don’t pronounce it similar to what the French would at all, so it sounds very Norwegian when you say it..
    Aurora is the same as Amanda, she just fits with the trend: Amanda, Linnea, Aurora, Mathea etc… They’re all soft, no hard vowels, 3 syllables, ending in an A… Aurora is my favourite of them though ^^
    Astrid is very, very Norwegian 🙂 It means something like ‘beautiful goddess’, the beautiful coming from the ‘rid’ part like I told you 😉

    And to correct, Solveig is SOL-vye, the ‘g’ is mute. I don’t know how I missed that…

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Aww I forget about the translation! I wonder why so little of the popular names here were in the top 100. Claudia said cloud-e-uh or Claude-uh?
      I wonder if I can have a look at the Swede top 100 online somewhere. Milla is pretty!
      Oh we would spell it Yulia I like Yulia 🙂 Is the J pronounced as a y?
      Its so interesting hearing about names in another country 🙂 thanks for sharing.
      I never knew “rid” ending meant beautiful how cool!
      Aww I see the trend now! Aurelia would fit there. The d in Amanda seems quite harsh to me though? Mathea is pretty my Brother is Matthew.
      So Solveig is a bit like Sylvie but more stress on the o at the beginning I like it 🙂

      • 7

        Dearest said,

        J is always pronounced like a Y in Norwegian. It’s just how we say it!
        I’m beginning to see Aurelia in the Norwegian name board I’m on, but it takes a while for a name to spread in Norway, because I don’t think Aurelia is incorporated in the Norwegian name books yet which is most people’s source as well as the names of people they’ve met… We’re only 5 million people, after all ^^

        In Norway, we have many dialects. the typical southern one has ‘soft consonants’. This means their P’s, T’s and K’s turn into B’s, D’s and G’s… B, D and G are thus seen as soft, and the ‘d’ in Amanda isn’t seen as hard at all…
        And Solveig is a bit lke Sylvie, I didn’t think of that! ^^ I love Sylvie! Solveig means ‘strong house’ or ‘strength of the sun’ – Veig means ‘strength’ and Sol means either ‘house’ or ‘sun’… You can also write it without the ‘g’ at the end, but that’s not very common. I consider myself lucky to know a lady who spells it Solvei ^^

        As for Claudia, I asked them about both pronounciations and most people didn’t care for any of them, although the English was the favoured one (CLAUDE-ee-ah in my head)…

        I actually think a surpsrising amount of the US top names were also in the Norwegian, but I guess it would seem like little to you considering all the Norwegian names on the list… I’m used to most people around me having typical Norwgian names, so for me it’s strange to see all the international ones topping the list today… ^^

        And I love talking about Norwegian name trends, so as long as you find it interesting I’ll keep talking! I like to be able to help with this, since I always feel like such an expert! XD

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        Aw thats good to know 🙂 What Norwegian name board is that? I go on Nameberry & Baby’s Named a Bad Bad Thing mostly sometimes Behindthename.
        Aw Norway is similar size to NZ you have slightly more people though. Do the Norwegian name books mostly have traditional names?
        Wow crazy how the letters change! So Amanda is very soft thats interesting.
        Solveig has a cool meaning! does the meaning change if you spell it Solvei?
        So most people of your generation have traditional Norwegian names but the younger generations is becoming more diverse with their names?
        It is very interesting, when I am having a break from my assignment I will put the boys up 🙂 I have also had a look at the Irish top 100 that it is pretty interesting too 🙂

      • 9

        Dearest said,

        The Norwegian name board is in Norwegian so it wouldn’t be anything for you to visit, but it’s only a tiny part of a large website called http://www.barnimagen.no (‘barn i magen’ means ‘child in belly’ which is kind of odd IMO)
        I mostly stick to Nameberry. I go on behindthename as well, but their boards are so crooked to navigate, it drives me crazy!
        Norwegian name books don’t just have traditional names, but most of them are names that have been somewhat common in Norway.. The namebooks I have access to are from some time ago, though (60’s and 80’s), so I’m not sure what’s in them today…
        It is crazy how the letters change, but we’re REALLY used to it! Norwegians in general have a good knack for languages because we have so many dialects with such great differences and we have to relate to them from a very young age, so we really have to sharpen our ears. We’re also the best of the Swedes, Danes and us to understand the other two languages… Danes and Swedes have a hard time understanding each other, but Norwegians find it just as easy to understand one as the other. We’re cool like that XD

        Solvei means the same as Solveig. For someone not from Norway, i would recommend the Solvei spelling as it’s more intuitive…
        I wouldn’t say that my generation has traditional Norwegian names, but we have names with a long tradition of use in Norway… nowadays people are importing more names from the English speaking world, probably due to the internet and the easy access of information. Names like Maximilian, Nathaniel, Michelle and such haven’t been used in Norway for more than the last 10 years, but now they’re just growing and growing!
        I actually like Nathaniel, but the traditional Norwegian spelling and pronunciation Nathanael (na-TA-na-el) is so much prettier than the English! I try to convince people on the name board of it, but no one has listened yet…

        And Ovidia is fabulous! Now that Olivia is getting so popular, I wish people knew about her, but she’s not even on behindthename, and they have more names than they should!!!
        Someone also said she’d make a good Lydia alternative. She’s like the perfect mix of Lydia and Olivia with heaps of dignity. She reminds me of names like Augusta and Wilhelmina for some reason ^^

        Othilie is like Ottilie… I prefer the Othilie spelling since the Ottilie one reminds me of Otto which is a name I don’t like at all… We never pronounce the ‘th’ sound in Norway, it’s always a said like a normal ‘t’, so whether you spell it Othilie or Ottilie doesn’t really matter… (Same with Thelma, Mathea and Nathanael for example)
        We say Ottilie oh-TEE-lee-uh… We always pronounce the final ‘e’ like you do with ‘a’.. Seraphine and Seraphina has the same amount of syllables in Norway, so if I were to use it there I would spell it Serafin to get the English Seraphine pronunciation…

      • 10

        babynamelover said,

        Oh cool it must be interesting looking through older naming books! I went to a book shop today and they had hardly any, I had more in my collection at home!
        Have the letters always been seen that way or is it something that has evolved?
        I don’t like Nathaniel but I do like Nathanael (na-TA-na-el) that is so much nicer! I guess its the same in places like France, Ireland they have their traditional names but other names have crept into the top 100 as people look to the wider world for inspiration.
        Ovidia- is like a mix of Olivia & Lydia! Olivia is so overdone, I know Olivia’s my age early 20’s and the Olivia rush is still going.
        I like Otto but it means rubbish bin here 😦 so th is just t? thats interesting! Othilie is much prettier on paper than Ottilie! Oh and e’s are a’s on the end? or all the time? Here we would spell it Otilia to get (oh Teeh-lee-uh). Serafin always looked so strange to me I would say it Sera-fin like fish fin.

      • 11

        Dearest said,

        I love my old naming books! They have names that aren’t in use any more so I really love them…
        The letters have always been that way due to Danish influence, but it’s only in the southern parts of Norway…
        I want to use Ovidia some day, more than anything…

        I prefer the Othilie spelling as well, but I could never like Otto…
        E’s aren’t a’s on the end but you get a similar sound. We have more distinction between our vowels in Norwegian than you do in English, so it’s kind of hard to explain properly… I guess explaining it o-TEE-lee-uh was a bit off, should have been o-TEE-lee-eh, ‘eh’ like the ‘e’ in very…
        And I’m glad you like Natanael, it’s a whole other name in my opinion, and I’d love to use it!

        Perhaps Seraphin would be better to avoid the fish fin thing? I don’t think I’ll use it if I live my life in Norway, but it’s in the back of my head because of it’s fiery meaning ^^ I love fire names!

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        Why could you not like Otto?
        What other fire names do you like? 🙂

      • 13

        Dearest said,

        I have a lot on my list, but I can’t say I love them all… Some are a bit ‘out there’ or completely crashes with my usual style… I think Seraphine, Inigo, Icarus and Edana are the only ones I’m likely to use…
        Bridget, Elfi, Elda, Blaze, Icarus, Helios, Edana/Adena, Inigo (as a form of Ignatius), Fiammetta, all names related to Aidan, Kent (form of Kenneth), Vesta/Hestia, Ea, Enya, Yuri, Ena, Josiah, Phoenix, Azar, Iagan, Candace and Endellion make the list now, but I’m always on the lookout ^^

        I just don’t like Otto… It’s cute, but it’s not a name in my head…

      • 14

        babynamelover said,

        Hubby has suggested Icarus before. Edana is pretty. Is Elfi male or female? How do you say Ea? Iagan is interesting and I haven’t see Endellion before.
        Fair enough I can say the same about Neveah!

  3. 15

    Sebastiane said,

    These are interesting. I love these:

    Vilde
    Tuva
    Live
    Signe
    Solveig
    Evle
    Iselin,
    Oline
    Iben
    Mina
    Mathea
    Dina
    Linnea
    Kaja
    Celine
    Celina
    Sofia
    Oda
    Aurora
    Astrid
    Stella

    • 16

      babynamelover said,

      I love Solvieg and Iselin now that Dearest explained them 🙂

      • 17

        Dearest said,

        I think Evle is supposed to be Erle, a feminine form of Earl ^^

        And I’m glad you girls like the names, there are a lot of pretty names only used in Norway ^^

      • 18

        babynamelover said,

        Oops that was me. Erle is pretty. Now to convince hubby to put them on the list :P.

  4. 19

    Sebastiane said,

    I have a question Dearest, is Ovidia still popular there? And how did its usage in Norway come about? I know its a Greek name by origin, but I have only ever seen it used in Norway, that and Ovedie.

    • 20

      Dearest said,

      Ovidia isn’t popular really, there are only 63 ladies with the name in all of Norway. Othilie is picking up though, so I’m hoping Ovidia will follow. It’s the ONE name I actually want to be more popular becuase it’s too pretty to fall out of use… ^^

      I have no idea how she came into use in Norway, I think it’s from the time it was popular in the high class city people to choose names like Constance, Honoria, Emerentze and such. Anyhting but a Norwegian name!’
      Other than that, it could be because Ove is a fairly common boys name in Norway, and Ovidia became a way of honouring an Ove, thus also getting the Ovedie form.. I can’t find any information on it in Norwegian, but I’ll look around and see what I can find ^^

      • 21

        babynamelover said,

        Ovidia reminds me of Olivia but its so much prettier! Othilie is that a form of Ottilie/Ophelie? How do you say Othilie?

  5. 22

    Sebastiane said,

    I am fluent in Swedish so I understand Norwegian quite well. I used to browse through the Norwegian papers online and look at the newborn babies. I am surprised that Ovidia is really unusual now because I could have sworn I saw a few in the birth announcements, at least quite a few times as a middle name, I have seen both spellings of Ovidia and Ovedie.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

