Would you use a nickname for a fullname?

Or have you? Why did you choose to do this?

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    marilyn said,

    We agonized over how to get “Daisy” (Margaret is already used in the family, and my husband just didn’t love it enough anyway) and finally just used Daisy as the full name for our daughter. And now we love it. it’s simple, but I think it’s still substantial enough to stand on its own.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Do you worry about when she’s older and it seeming nicknamey at all? (Not try to offend just interested!) My Nan is Margaret, I meet a last wee Maggie on my Teaching practice who was Maggie May and on an earlier one I met a Meg. I can’t actually even think of a longer name except for Margaret.
      Do you have any other children?
      Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      • 3

        marilyn said,

        Yeah, we worried about it a lot, that’s why were trying everything we could think of to get to the nickname Daisy. (Desdemona . . . Anastasia . . . Dacia) But we finally decided it would be okay. I think Daisy has kind of an elegant 1920’s vibe to it that makes it better than Barbie or Buffy or one of those really silly-sounding nicknames.

        We have three boys too. Abraham Thomas, Sebastian Dane, and Malachi Norris. I actually thought Daisy would end up being (1st choice) Josephine Eve, or (others on list) Winifred or Violet or Seraphina or Jemima. But when she was born none of those others fit, and when my husband said “How about Daisy Aurora” it just felt RIGHT. So that’s what we did. πŸ™‚ But I do hope she doesn’t feel it’s too nicknamey or not as serious as her brothers’ names.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I am quite partial to Daisy, she is in my most mentioned names! I think she is light and springly as a middle πŸ™‚ She is definitely not in the Barbie category!
        ooh Abraham is gorgeous and nice with strong Thomas! Do you call him Abe? I think I saw a photo on your blog. Sebastian is nice with Abraham as is Malachi I think it nice Daisy has such a girly name with three Brothers πŸ™‚ Hubby likes Malachi but I prefer Malachy.
        Ooh I love all your girls!! Are you planning any more bubs?

      • 5

        Sophia said,

        Depending on how you pronounce it, Malachi/Malachy can also be spelt Malakai. I know a little boy with this spelling.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        Malakai do you think thats to get the nn Kai? I think its awful children being named the Māori word for food! Which spelling do you prefer?

      • 7

        Sophia said,

        Yes he does get called Kai so that could have been it. Well, I guess not everyone knows what it means in Maori, and even if everyone did, it could just be a phonetic attraction. I personally like the name Kai, and I only found out recently that it means food in Maori. Hasn’t put me off so far!
        For Malachy/Malachi/Malakai I definitely prefer the spelling Malachy, but if you say that the traditional Irish way it’s actually Muh-LARK-ee rather than MAL-uh-kai. Or so my mum tells me.

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        Yeah probably wouldn’t even come up if you weren’t in NZ I couldn’t use it though. I think it has another meaning in Hawaiian?
        Yup thats how I like it said πŸ™‚ My Nan parents came to NZ before she was born so I am third generation kiwi with irish roots.

  2. 9

    Bewildertrix said,

    I think Daisy stands alone just as well as Rose, Ivy, Violet and other botanical names. It’s the “EE” ending some name purists get their knickers wadded over. I think that’s hilarious. So many legitimate full names end in that sound and I happen to love it e.g OphΓ©lie and Ivy.

    I take it on a case by case basis. Dolly is too informal for me. Juliet, icky Charlotte, Eliza and Elise are not. Short forms/contractions tend to have more gravitas than pet forms. Some pet forms have been used for years e.g Juliet/te and no one blinks an eyelid. I do hate the hypocrisy sometimes. And some pet forms are so removed from their original full names e.g Sally from Sarah it no longer matters. Say you named your daughter Sarah and you call her Sally and your average person would probably say “Huh?” πŸ˜‰

    I’m dead keen on a contracted form of a longer and very OTT (to me) formal name right now. It doesn’t sound like a nickname but it is. This name has been used stand alone for hundreds of years. I couldn’t imagine putting the full name on the birth certificate. I don’t love it and it would be a waste. To quote you, I’m being “secret squirrel” right now πŸ˜›

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      You raise a good point πŸ™‚ What was the longer form of Juliet? I like Sally & Sadie as nicknames for Sarah πŸ™‚ I agree they would probably be very confused!

      OOh secret squirel πŸ˜› I used to keep our favourites secret but I have told my Mum and a close friend and now they are on the blog. We have a write on board in kitchen with our top five and hubby said to me yesterday “if someone breaks in they will steal your names” Lol πŸ˜›

      Is this the same name in the Ida/Ada vein? hmm you still have me totally stumped πŸ˜›

      Hubby likes formal school boy names but likes shorter names for girls.

      • 11

        Bewildertrix said,

        Julie is the full form of Juliette. Julie is the French Julia.
        Shakespeare popularised the Juliet spelling. It’s still a diminutive but most people wouldn’t have a clue nor care.

        The male diminutive equivalent of Charlotte was Charlot interestingly. I like many male diminutives too. Some of the old medieval English ones were rather nice.

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        wow I never knew that!I presumed Julie was a short form of Juliet! Charlot that looks to close to Harlot!!
        do you have any medieval English ones one your blog?

  3. 13

    Bewildertrix said,

    I love the Irish Malachy. It’s said MAL uh kee. It’s an anglicised form of the Irish Maeleachlainn and this spelling was influenced by the unrelated Malachi. They are supposed to be said quite differently.

    Irish actor Cillian Murphy has a Malachy.

  4. 15

    Bewildertrix said,

    KIL ee in, well, in our accent it comes across like that I’m sure. All Cs in Irish are the hard K. I don’t like the K- spelling half as much. It’s has bollocks flow with the surname though so it’s just a middle name idea for me. It’s funny. Very few of my favourites work swimmingly with the surname which sucks. I’m not a flow nerd but it would be nice to have it not sound awkward. A boy will have two or three middles so I’m sure I can work it so it’s not preceding the surname.

    • 16

      babynamelover said,

      So the n’s silent on the end? Are you going to find out gender of bub? did you find out with your two? Have you been working on combos?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

