Avery for a boy

What do you think?

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SarahInJune said,

    I definitely prefer Avery on a boy. I think it makes a great middle too, it’s got such a good flow to it.

  2. 3

    Sophia said,

    I prefer it for a girl but after seeing Charlotte’s Web I warmed to it for a boy.

  3. 7

    shay120 said,

    I prefer Avery on a boy and think it is quite handsome, even if surname as first names aren’t my thing.

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Oh is Avery originally a surname? I didn’t know that, the bird avery puts me off when I think about associations though.

      • 9

        Sophia said,

        ‘cept in the bird context it’s aviary.

      • 10

        babynamelover said,

        oh lol I knew it didn’t look quite the same! They are said the same though?

      • 11

        Bewildertrix said,

        Surname yes. Just like Ashley and others. Avery and Ashley have been used at least for 200 years. There’s plenty of genealogy hits back to 1790. They weren’t exactly common first names but they were used on men certainly.

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        Aw thats interesting 🙂 thanks for sharing 🙂 1790 wow thats amazing! How long till you have your scan? 🙂

      • 13

        Bewildertrix said,

        Had to add my 2 cents because it irks me to no end to hear them called surnames only and not legit as first names when they bloody well have the use to back them up. I don’t like most surnames as first names but many have longer use than people realise 😛 Ashley and Avery are two examples only.

        A couple of weeks! An update: http://goblinpoppet.blogspot.com/2009/10/can-we-sell-it-mummy.html

      • 14

        babynamelover said,

        Thanks for adding that, I love how I learn so much about names off other people 🙂 I didn’t know you had another blog!

  4. 15

    Bewildertrix said,

    LOL, I have three. Names, kids and general miscellaneous ‘crap’ 😛 Best to keep them separated else its gets messy.

    • 16

      babynamelover said,

      That must keep you super busy!

      • 17

        Bewildertrix said,

        Not really. I update the name one every few days although I haven’t got time or passion for daily posts. The others once a month perhaps now, if that. I’ve been a bit slack. I think you make more posts here than I do on all three of mine! This is good for me though as I’ve been quite bored lately and the weather isn’t helping.

        My latest misc one was a few words about Aisling Symes as it really upset me. Isla is the same age.

        http://bewildertrix.blogspot.com/

      • 18

        babynamelover said,

        Well with two kiddies life must be pretty busy, once I start working Nov 3 I probably won’t be able to be posting as much as I do, right now is like a mini holiday before being out in the real world! Weather has been crazy here too.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

