Name for today-Isobel

Scottish form of ISABEL (Behind The Name)

Baby Name Wizard

  • #57 in England
  • #165 in Scotland

Isobel Katherine Stevens of ”Grey’s Anatomy”

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Now if it were commonly pronounced as the talented Christy Moore says it here in the Irish ballad Bogie’s Bonnie Belle (skip to 37 seconds), I’d freaking adore it. His EYE sa bell is gorgeous. Bit matchy with Isla though, eh?

    As it is, I like Isobel, always have and this is my favourite spelling. As far as form go, I find Isbeal (ISH bel)/Ishbel has much more Scottish flavour but really it would just merge in with all the Isabels and Isabellas I’m sure. So, it’s just a middle name idea for me only.

  2. 4

    sarah said,

    my nanas middle name was Isabel…will likely end up as a middle name if i have a daughter one day…

  3. 6

    sarah said,

    i like it with Mikaeli. Mikaeli Isabel. thought about Leanne but Mikaeli Leanne is kind of a tongue twister. Nataliah Leanne…Nataliah Isabel…Anaya Leanne…Anaya Isabel…oooh i like that last one. hehe im full of codeine right now and am having something of a written conversation with myself. lol.

    • 7

      babynamelover said,

      I like Nataliah Leanne, I seen it spelt Natalya too which is Russian. Where does Anaya come from? I like Anya/Anja which is similar.

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Did you get an appointment yet, I actually can’t believe the hospital didn’t look into it, it is ridicolous (can’t spell).

  4. 9

    sarah said,

    anaya is sanskrit apparently. yeah ive seen that spelling natalya too. i prefer nataliah. havent gt appointment yet

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      Anaya sounds pretty I also like Amaya which is Japanese and means something to do with rain. Hope you don’t have to wait too long!

  5. 11

    sarah said,

    i hope i dont have to wait long too


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

