Christchurch Mail- St Georges BA’s

October 7th 2009

Cleo- 27/9/2009 9lb 1oz

Katelyn- 29/9/2009 8lb 4oz

Azariah- 29/9/2009 6lb 110z

Rocko (Bruno) 29/9/2009 7lb 3oz

Daisy- 29/9/2009 7lb 150z

Lucy (Kate, Cameron, Tom, Emily & Hamish) 29/9/2009 8lb

Lakia (Nevaeh) 28/9/2009 7lb 7oz

Joshua- 28/9/2009 7lb 3oz

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Azariah a boy or a girl? I firmly dislike it either way, particularly with the horrifying Azaria Chamberlain dingo story firmly etched in to my brain.

    It’s a ballsy choice for NZ but even more so for Australia where I have seen a few pop up in BAs.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      It was a girl sorry I should have said, its originally boy isn’t it? They all have photos they so cute! makes me seriously clucky! going to see my niece this afternoon won’t be long before shes 6months! how you get on with the midwife?
      I only vaguely know the dingo story she went missing as a toddler?

  2. 3

    Bewildertrix said,

    She was nine weeks old and a dingo took her from her tent at Ayers Rock (Uluru) camping ground. Her mother, Lindy Chamberlain’s resulting farcical trial and character defamation was an absolute travesty. Dingos had attacked children prior to Azaria (and following). The prosecution denied that a dingo could kill, carry a baby, remove some of her loose baby clothing and eat the child. They used questionable ‘forensic’ techniques (later throw out) as well as keeping evidence from the defence which would support the dingo theory. A helpless little infant reeking of milk and lying on an open tent floor mattress would be an irresistible and easy target for a dingo hanging around the camp ground and they were seen prior to her disappearance.

    Another theory was that a dingo killed the child and during the search for her the remains were found and had been later disposed of “by person or persons unknown” out of respect for the parents i.e park rangers were responsible.

    The whole story is tragic but more for the entire Chamberlain family who were dragged through the mud. The evidence against Lindy was weak and circumstantial and she should never have been convicted. It’s not just.

    The name is Biblical and male but it seems many have usurped it for female use. I also wonder if these Christchurch parents are use AH zah ree uh like the Chamberlain baby.

    Midwife visit all good. Blood pressure fine, maxalon tablets kicking in properly now and hopefully we will hear the heartbeat at my 12 week check. I still need to book my scan for around that time.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      nine weeks! thanks for filling me in about the story I hadn’t heard some of that. I thought it was male and it certainly sounds biblical.
      Glad midwife visit went okay and that your are feeling a bit better πŸ™‚ how exciting you will be looking forward to scan πŸ™‚
      Do you have a list of names you are considering?

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        Um, a small list that constantly changes although I’m pretty hooked on a girl newbie that I’m keeping close to my chest. I’m trying it out on the “not quite a bump.” Let’s just say there’s no chance in hell of it ever being popular πŸ˜‰

        I’m fairly sure Ivy, Beatrix or Blithe will be included somewhere. And since I’m not going Irish/Scottish for the first name, well, not making it a rule, there’s always Lilias and Ishbel to consider for a middle too. I’d like to have one “Gaelic” related choice. In the middle, Ishbel’s merging in with the Isabel mania won’t bother me so much.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        Ooh secret squirrel! does partner like it? We were going to keep our names super secret but I have let them slip πŸ˜› but we are not going to ttc for ages so who knows they will probably change again. Does that mean the name is weird/crazy/old fashioned?
        Ooh how many middles are you thinking? Cause I can’t remember how many Isla has I know its a lot, Conor has one right?
        Ishbel & Lilias are both gorgeous! I like Ivy, Beatrix & Blithe too!

  3. 7

    Bewildertrix said,

    Actually he didn’t say it ‘sucked’ so that’s promising. It’s in the Ada/Ida (EE da) vein but works so much better with the Ad- surname. I’m trying not to get attached to any one name but it would be nice to have something semi-definite.

    Conor has two and Isla has four + double first name that we rarely use. Um, I have no idea this time. Whatever works. Won’t be more than Isla’s definitely πŸ˜‰ But I’m not sticking to just two either. It’s my last child and having had no problems with Isla’s name so far I’m more inclined to say three. A compromise. I think Isla having mostly short names, meant things fitted. Had I used Katherine Anneliese Violette Rosalind Seraphina Antoinette [surname] it might have been a different story πŸ˜›

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Ooh I like Ada and Ida so I might like the name! πŸ™‚ that sounds very promising I get straight out NO here lol. Did you have Isla & Conor picked out early on? do you believe a baby can suit and not suit a name? Isla Scarlet Bonnie I can never remember the other ones! Three sounds like a good number my hubby wants one. Yeah long names and several don’t really go I agree.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

