Fact about Chinese naming.

I got this out of baby name book- The best baby names in the world by J.M Congemi

“The Chinese wouldn’t dare name a baby before it was born.”

What do you think? Have you done this? Or did you have Β a list?

Do you call your tummy a choosen name? or a nickname?

Really interested to hear your thoughts, ideas & opinions? πŸ™‚

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sarah said,

    I think when you are preggers, you sort of get a vibe from your baby about who they are… maybe it’s just the hormones. If I lost a baby, I would still give them whatever name I had chosen for them.

    I didn’t like Remy’s name until I was pregnant with him. Kelson went through about 50 different names when I was pregnant. I never in a million years though I would have a son named Kelson, but when you look at him.. that’s who he is.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Maybe there is a hormone, they been talking on huggies forum about how long you can leave a baby unnamed both personally and legally.
      Its funny that theres so may names out there but it can take so long to find the “perfect” one. Is crazy too how some kids really suit there names but others don’t at all.

  2. 5

    Sarah said,

    I lied, top 11.

    Arcadia Elettra
    Cordelia Winter
    Echo Artemis
    Eulalie Frances
    Frances Zenobia
    India Echo (Not sure India works w/ sibset)
    Phaedra Luna
    Phoebe Frances
    Sawyer Phoebe
    Winifred Ozma (or Winifred Violet)
    Zelda Primrose

    Amos Gideon
    Atticus Eros
    Eben Ignatius
    Evander Gideon
    Felix Harper
    Linus Xavier
    River Indigo
    Sawyer Justus
    Ulysses Adam
    Walter Justus
    Whitaker Oz

    I know some of them are a bit … animated, but it makes me happy.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      They make me smile πŸ™‚ I particularly love
      Remy, Kelson & Eulalie
      Remy, Kelson & Phoebe
      Remy, Kelson & Zelda (My Fav)

      Remy, Kelson & Atticus
      Remy, Kelson & Eben
      Remy, Kelson & Felix
      Remy, Kelson & Linus
      Remy, Kelson & River.
      Remy, Kelson & Evander.(My fav)

      These combos are gorgeous πŸ™‚
      Cordelia Winter, Eulalie Frances, Winifred Violet & Zelda Primrose
      Atticus Gideon (Flows better than Eros?), Eben Ignatius, River Indigo & Ulysses Adam.

  3. 7

    Sarah said,

    Oh, if it helps I make blonde haired, blue eyed babies.

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Definitely Eulalie then not Zelda I think for a girl, I still like Evander but maybe Felix is more suited?

      • 9

        Sarah said,

        One nice thing about Zelda & Felix is that it would keep the whole “E as the 2nd letter of the first name) trend going. E is the second letter of our last name too.

        I think Gideon does work well w/ Atticus. I actually like it as a second w/ most of my names. I wouldn’t use it as a first though because I don’t want another ON ending.

        Hubby is feeling Eulalie & Pheobe for girls. I think he digs most of the boys names.

        Thanks for all the comments/advice. You’re the best.

      • 10

        babynamelover said,

        Thats okay I love names I’m probably seen as a bit crazy hehe. I didn’t even realise that about Zelda and Felix!
        I like Gideon in the middle too πŸ™‚
        Have you heard of Hebe sort of like Phoebe, its greek I meet a wee girl in a centre called it πŸ™‚ she was blonde I remember. I don’t know whether Hebe feels sort of unfinished though buts its pretty. Do you like Eula as a nickname for Eulalie?
        Finished assignment due today so have lots of time today for names πŸ™‚ yay

      • 11

        Sarah said,

        I hadn’t heard of Hebe before! I think I prefer the softer Ph though. I actually thing Eulalie would be nicknamed Either Lailee or Effy (due to the EF initially). I’ve never big big on Eula, but I’m sure it would grow on me.

        Yay for finishing early!!! Such a good feeling.

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        I think its spelt Phebe too its greek as well. I atually prefer it without the o the o has always looked funny to me.
        Lailee is very pretty I prefer it to Effy.

        I always try finish before otherwise I get so stressed! what are you and the boys up to today?

      • 13

        Sarah said,

        I dig Phebe. I’m going to have to look at it for a while to adjust, but I think I could go for it.

        I like Lailee too.

        It’s 8:30 here so the boys are happily in bed. Sent Tim on an icecream run so my night is about to get a whole lot better.

      • 14

        babynamelover said,

        I like Phebe πŸ™‚ mmm icecream hehe, we just went to the centre we I will be working it is sooo beautiful 32 sleeps til I start πŸ™‚ can you tell I’m excited!
        Hope you have nice night with hubby πŸ™‚ oh and good weekend πŸ™‚ I be back Monday.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

