If you had to… (Also posted on a forum by me)

Name a boy and girl after your grandparents what would you call them, use middles & first names.

Mine
Steven Willoughby & Margaret, Frank Marriott, Jennifer Helen Isobel.

I would choose

Willoughby Frank for a boy

Isobel Margaret Helen for a girl

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sarah said,

    Emerson Lowell, Joann Lois, Frances Elizabeth, Stanley Walter

    Walter Emerson

    Elizabeth Frances

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Oh cool you have Emerson as a grandfather that name rocks 🙂
      I like Emerson Walter too 🙂
      Same with Frances Elizabeth 🙂

  2. 3

    Bewildertrix said,

    Ila June/Jean and Raymond Graham.

    Although I dropped an L with Ila. She was Illa said EYE la and a great grandparent.

  3. 5

    Bewildertrix said,

    It was another common spelling of Isla, said the same and visually closer to the Isle’s Gaelic name of Ile (EE leh). Ila was also found commonly as EE la and nothing to do with Isla.

    I forgive my great great grandparents for getting it wrong 😛 Unintentional misspellings happened a lot.

    Um, I prefer Dougray (doo Gray/DOO gray) to Raymond.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Oh I see although slightly confused hehe. So Ila can be both (Eye-la) and (EE-leh)
      I notice lots of variants of spelling looking through the cemetery records I haven’t looked there for awhile.
      I hadn’t heard of Dougray I liek Grey by itself for a middle.
      Right I must get off here go do my assignment 🙂

  4. 7

    brooke said,

    My grandparents are Juliet (familyname) and Philip (familyname), and Coral Amy and William (something).

    I’d pick Juliet Coraline or Amy Juliet, and William Philip, even though it sounds weird lol coz I don’t know any of their other names.

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Juliet Coraline is pretty, I went to school with a Coralea (Corra-lee) recently I have been liking Coralie, Cordelia and Cora. Isn’t there a movie about Coraline?
      William Philip is nice strong combo even though I don’t like William.

  5. 9

    lili said,

    I have Patrick Joseph and Helen Marjorie, and Henry (Something) and Roberta Ernestine.

    I would use Patrick Henry and Helena Rose (pieces of Roberta and Ernestine).

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      Patrick is pretty cool pretty uncommon in NZ as is Helena, I don’t know whether I prefer Helen to a Helena? do you say it Helen-uh or Ha-lane-uh?
      I love Henry!! Roberta is the feminine form of Robert? same with Ernestine?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

