Elizabeth/Elisabeth

Can someone explain to me the difference?

Do you like Bethany or Eliza as stand alone names?

What is your fav nn of Elisabeth? Beth, Liz, Lizzie, Betsy, Lisa, Betty, Elsie, Elsa or other?

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sarah said,

    I’ve never really seen much difference between the two. I think I like the way the S looks better, but my fave nicknames are Eliza and Lizzy so I’d have to go w/ the Z.

    Eliza is on my list so I say absolutely. It works well as a name on it’s own.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Is Elizabeth the original I wonder hmmm. I went to school with an Elizabeth she went by Liz also know a Eliza who was born this year and an Eliza who would be 5 now. and Bethany was a sister of a boy in my year. I will have to keep pondering what my fav nn is I think Elsie or Elsa which would mean Elisabeth.

  2. 3

    Bewildertrix said,

    Elisheba/Elisheva are the older Elisabeth forms.

    I’ve heard many times that Queen Elizabeth I popularised the Z spelling in England. You could also call it the default ‘English spelling” now.

    In other places such as Germany, Elisabeth is the most common form.

    I prefer Elisabeth as it’s visually closer to the older Hebrew name.

    I don’t think you have resign yourself to using Elisabeth just to get Elise, Elsa, Lisa, Elsie or any similar nickname. I know of Elizabeths who’ve gone by Elsie and Lissy.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      I like Elisheva! thanks for clearing that up for me 🙂 Do you Prince William is why William has been so popular? Beatrice & Eugenie never really caught on or did they?
      I think Elisabeth looks softer than Elizabeth what do you think?

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        Plenty of Beatrices in the ‘posh’ Telegraph though. Although it seems to be a lot more popular in the last few years than it’s ever been. I think it was about #265 in 2001 and in 2007 it was #133. I wonder if it will push into the top 100 for 2009? Florence is there 😉 I assume Beatrice is of a similar style and will follow.

        Yes, Elisabeth is softer than Elizabeth to me.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        wow I didn’t realise Beatrice had climbed that far! I must have a look at the charts for UK I’m not sure if I have a printed copy.
        How you feeling?

  3. 7

    brooke said,

    I think Bethany is a name in its own right, separate from Elizabeth? I like it more as a fn for Beth, but I think Beth stands fine on its own too (probably coz I’m used to it, since it’s my mum’s name). I love Eliza on its own, used to be one of my favourites.
    My favourite Elizabeth nicknames would be Libby, Bess, Eliza, Elise. And maybe Elsie, depending on my mood.
    I think I like Elizabeth more than Elisabeth, maybe just because I’ve seen it more?

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Oh I forgot Libby! Libby is awesome 🙂 Does Bethany have a different meaning or root I wonder hmmm.
      Yeah I can understand liking Elizabeth more cause its more familiar! I’m not a huge fan of Elise I don’t know why though.
      Hope is the travelling going?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

