Name for today- Fleur

Means “flower” in French. This was the name of a character in John Galsworthy’s novels ‘The Forsyte Saga’ (1922).

(Behindthename)

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Of course I love it ♥ It was infrequently used in Angevin England too so think early 1200’s. An old name for sure.

    John Galsworthy certainly revived it.

    I also love the old Blanchefleur/Blancheflor too but it’s really an ambitious ‘relic’. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blanchefleur so connected with Percival and Tristan & Iseult.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      We had a Fleur as a lecturer she is in Aus now, I think I prefer Flora to Fleur what about you?
      Who is John Galsworthy? How do you say Blanchefleur it always intrigues me 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂 hope the ms is easing.

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        The author of the Forsyte Saga 😉

        Flora was my first choice but I was denied. In hindsight, I’m glad I didn’t use it as a middle as I prefer Flora as first name despite the big margarine issue still annoying me.

        I’ve seen Floras (and Florences) popping up in the English BAs a lot but very little Fleur. Just the odd one in the Telegraph and recently an example was a sibling to Percival.

        Just Blanche + Fleur 😛 Of course the French pronunciation of Blanche is decidedly softer and prettier.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        First choice for Isla? That damn margarine :P. I just been on a site for new arrivals that has a photo omg they are so cute and they all have their own personality I am going to post some of the names soon, most are very trendy though not sure where the hospital is in the world though.

        Percival & Fleur is pretty awesome 🙂

        I’m not sure if I like Blanchefleur.

  2. 5

    Bewildertrix said,

    And yes, the medicine is doing a bit to curb it in the morning but I’m noticing a lingering feeling all day now. It’s not fair.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      That is really sucky did you get it with Conor & Isla? how many weeks is the morning sickness meant to stop by? hope its soon! wouldn’t it be crazy if it was twins. Is there family history? when will you have a scan? lol so many questions!

  3. 7

    Bewildertrix said,

    I’ve poached from American hospitals before but the misspellings and contrived made up on the spot names really inflict some damage on the eyes 😦

    Usually around 12 weeks it ceases (when the placenta takes over production of a certain hormone) but it can vary. I only had it very mildly with my previous two and a good thing too as I was working during both pregnancies.

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Yes I have found the names super crazy lol. Is America were a lot of the trendy spellings come from do you think?

      Wonder why you getting so much this time, as you have had both gender, I know sometimes one gender can give some people more morning sickness. Hope it eases off soon 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

