Astrid, Astra and Carmen

What do you think of them?

Been thinking about them today 🙂

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sarah said,

    You know, I LOVE Astrid. Mostly because of the beautiful character on Fringe. Before seeing her, I would have probably have hated it.

    Astra sounds too much like a prefix, not enough like a name to me.

    I’ve always loved Carmen, but prefer Carlin.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I only ever watched one episode of Fringe but I did enjoy I can never remember what night it is on? Maybe Astra could work as a nn for Astrid?
      I haven’t heard of Carlin that sounds more masculine to me ;0

      • 3

        Sarah said,

        Fringe is on Thursdays here. I would totally use Astra as a nickname for astrid.
        I only really like Carlin for a girl because of the book The River King. I could never use it though as it reminds me of George Carlin, the comedian, and I’m not really a fan.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I will try and remember to watch it this week 🙂 I haven’t heard of “The River King” or the comedian.

      • 5

        Sarah said,

        I’m sort of an entertainment junkie.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        My hubby is he has to have the tv or radio or movie going or internet all the time. I have to get him to wear headphones 😛 I enjoy books and movies ocassionally and have my fav tv shows like Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice & Outrageous Fortune. What are your favoruite books? movies? shows? music?
        what other baby name blogs do you like?

      • 7

        Sarah said,

        My fave books are Pride & Prejudice, Persuasion, North & South, The Namesake, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, I’m starting to get into Thomas Hardy.
        Movies: Constantine, Hell Boy, Momento, Pride & Prejudice (can you tell i’m a fan?), Bridget Jones Diary…
        Shows: Dollhouse (Joss Whedon is awesome), Fringe, Breaking Bad…
        Music: Most of it. 😉

        I really like Xanthe Linnea (Lots of my favorite names show up), and I’ve been looking over Lola’s site and i’m a fan of her taste, but it look like she hasn’t posted anything for a while. 😦 I don’t really comment though, Mostly just browse. My youngest is newly potty trained and suddenly I find myself w/ baby names on the brain. Uh OH.!

      • 8

        Sarah said,

        Oh I forgot, I LOOOOVE The Big Lebowski. We joked about naming our firstborn Dude. How cool would it be for people to have to call you dude? lols.

      • 9

        babynamelover said,

        hehe that would be super crazy!!

      • 10

        babynamelover said,

        I haven’t read any of those! do you recommend any?
        Oh I like Bridget Jones Diary 🙂 I don’t know what Dollhouse is or Breaking Bad?

        Lola seems to have disappeared I have received several emails from others saying Lola’s site is all made up about who she is and what her children are called etc etc but don’t know what to believe. I haven’t been to Xanthe Linnea for awhile. Do you go on any forums? behindthename, nameberry and baby’snamedabadbadthing are all good 🙂

        Uh oh does that mean you are wanting another bubba? 🙂 my niece is 5.5 months she makes me so clucky!

      • 11

        Sarah said,

        Pride & Prejudice is an amazing romance novel, by Jane Austen. Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy is the funniest book EVER.

        Someone very close to me had a problem like that, w/ the web. She went online and used false pictures and created a whole world for herself. It’s heartbreaking. She says she’s stopped but I doubt it. It’s really hard for me to become close to/trust anyone online because of it.

        I don’t really do forums much. I have a baby center account, that’s about it.

        As far as having another little one, i’m so ridiculously torn. I miss having a baby, but the idea of going through all the hard stuff again (sleepless nights, diapers, labor), it all scares me. I guess we’ll have to see if Biology beats brains.

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        Maybe I should try Pride and Prejudice I started it once but couldn’t get into it! I will look into getting the Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy out from the library thanks 🙂
        I can see how people could like to fantasize on the web but surely there are sites and games for doing that rather than making a whole new personality/life for yourself.

        Were you planning on having two? Hubby wants 2 I always wanted 4 (I’m oldest of 5, he’s oldest of 2) He reckons though that I love babies so much we might have more than 2. He is older than me so we will see how we go we plan to try July 2011 if I am far enough through my teaching registration which takes 2 years and we both are on scholarships which require us to work three out of five years once we graduate and start working. I have a job in an early childhood centre just opening and I’ll be a teacher in the infant and toddlers 🙂

        Do you work or you at home with your boys? Do you find your age gap good?

      • 13

        Sarah said,

        Somehow I missed this. We always wanted four children, but once we had two…. We decided that we were done. Now that our baby is potty trained, we’re starting to question it again.

        I’m a stay at home mommy (I feel like if you want something done right, you’d better do it yourself) and their being two years apart has been absolutely wonderful for us.

      • 14

        babynamelover said,

        You got clucky again? do you hope for a girl? or whatever you are lucky enough to get? 🙂
        Oh cool I want to be a stay at home Mum when we have kids 🙂 Thats I think the gap we hope for 18months- 2years, do you think 18months is not long enough?

      • 15

        Sarah said,

        I have four nieces who I adore, but my relationship w/ my mum has me sort of terrified of being on the other end of a mother/daughter relationship.

        Two years has worked out really well for us. W/ Kelson I decided to get knocked up again as soon as I was done nursing Remy.

      • 16

        babynamelover said,

        Four nieces you lucky 🙂 how old are they? what are their names? I have two nieces and a wee nephew in the stars. Oh I can see how a not good relationship with your mum could make you anxious about having a girl. do you think you will ttc soon so it similar age gap? Between Kelson and another bub?

  2. 17

    Sarah said,

    My neices

    Carolina Ashley (Ricardo, Jordan)

    Willow (Damien, Ember, Ashtin)

    Ember (Damien, Willow, Ashtin)

    Ruah Elodie (Finnegan, Caleb)

    I think it will be a while before we ttc. Remy starts school next year, which would help, but we’d need to find a bigger home too.

    • 18

      babynamelover said,

      Carolina is pretty, thats interesting sibset Ricardo, Jordan & Carolina (are they all places?)
      I had a thing for Ember a couple of years ago but then went off it, Ember & Willow are pretty sisters.
      Ruah is interesting where does that come from, seems strange with Finnegan & Caleb more tradtional names

      We have to wait too we won’t be until June 2011 or after depending on when teacher registration comes through.

      • 19

        Sarah said,

        I think Ruah is like the hebrew word for spirit. .

        Ricardo is a junior

        Don’t rush it, planning practicing & trying are the fun parts 😉

      • 20

        babynamelover said,

        Ruah is pretty!I also like Rumer.
        Oh hehe i don’t particularly like juniors but I can see how it appeals 🙂
        I have wanted a baby for years, nearly all the girls I hung out with at school have had kid (s) we are only all 20/21 though.
        Theres Angel-Jade (4) & Taylor-Marie (4 weeks or so), Ashtin Jhon (born bout feb I think), Ashlyn Iris Mary (born aug/sep last year) Dylan (born earlier last year) another girl has a girl Destiny and I think the boy is Cyrus or Cruz, another has Alexander and is due in a couple of months, one has Trinity and I think thats it theres is like 3 of us who haven’t had kids its crazy, theres also a girl pregnant from my year at school, another has a boy called Anthony, another girl had a boy in year 12, another has supposedly got three but not sure if its true. Its pretty crazy really.

        We are saving for our own place 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

