Ponderings!

On my hand today is.

Ghana

Ceyla vs Sailor

Auburn

Maple.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Dearest said,

    I don’t care for Ghana, don’t like the sound, and worry about the place connection… I try not to use place names unless they have some personal or historical connection that I like…
    Auburn and Sailor are on my boys list, but I don’t think I’ll ever use Sailor… I know a lot of people use Sailor for a girl, but all occupational names end up male in my head, even Weaver!
    I try to use one nature/virtue/word name in each of my combos, and that means Maple’s on my list as well, but when it comes down to it, she’s further down than most other names in the category… I’m debating whether to resort to her or Plum first… I also love Mabel, so the similarity might make Maple my last choice ^^

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Ghana does remind me of the chocolate first and foremost, we have a cat called Dakota so a place name could be a possibility for us.
      Don’t think I could use Sailor either what do you think of Scout?
      I think I prefer Maple to Plum but last week I would have said Plum. Do you have a blog?
      I’m not so fond of Mabel I actually prefer Maple I think.

      • 3

        Dearest said,

        I like Scout for “To kill a mockingbird” like everybody else, which would make it a girl’s name, but it “sounds” more like a boy’s name ^^
        Maple is more spunky than Mabel, so I completely understand your preference! Most of the names I love aren’t very spunky, so Maple would be rather mis-matched…. I actually used Juno in a combo once, but her spunk irked me and I traded her in for Ailsa XD I somehow shy away from the spunkiest names…

        I don’t have a blog, but I’ve been wondering about starting one… I have a lot of free time on my hands to do it, but I can never narrow it down to what I actually want my blog to be about… some days I want a name blog, other days I want a music blog, a film blog, a blog of Norwegian things, a fictional blog, a design blog, a blog to post short stories, I want them all, and I can never decide which one I want the most, or which one i would be interested in long enough to keep it all going…. I procrastinate a lot, so it just never happens…. ^^

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        Thats where i like Scout from too! Also doesn’t a celebrity have a Scout? not sure which one though. I should go through what celebrities named their baby book. so many books and so little time 🙂 I don’t know whether my fav’s are spunky? what do you think have you looked at the page? I absolutely love Juno though. She is top of the list for a girl and hubby loves it too!

        You could do a combined blog 🙂 I like blogging sometimes its all pretty random and crazy but I love to share my passion with baby names with the world and fellow baby name enthuists (can’ spell that) 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

