Maori names (my macron is not working)

Moana (g) and Awa (b)

(More-arna) and (Ah-wah)

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    I’d probably say Moana more like MWAH nah but that’s just me. It feels like such a typical middle aged Maori name along with Ngaire (I say NGAI reh) so I would love to see this on a young kid – although the youngest one I knew of would be in her late 20’s now.

    I’m digging on Kowhai and Korimako (bellbird) as middle names. I saw the most beautiful korimako outside my kitchen window this morning trilling away. We live right beside native bush so you see plenty of tui, kereru and korimako, particularly now all the kowhai and other blossoms are out. Brilliant dawn choruses too.

    *sigh*

    There are so many beautiful Maori names it’s almost a shame the only one I really see with any regularity is Aroha/Te Aroha.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Thats it lol MWAH nah I knew it wasn’t right lol its hard putting it on the screen from saying it! NGAI reh is off outrageous fortune!
      We also like Ngaio & Kahu and I like Tui hubby not so keen and the beer connection I guess!

      Kowhai is gorgeous! Korimako I didn’t know that one, you are so lucky living near native bush! SO jealous! ๐Ÿ˜›

      I like Aroha and Rangimarie as middles oh also Awhi for a boy!

      I have a Mฤori baby name book I should go through again,

      Oh and Anahera!

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        Ngaio is really pretty but it’s all ‘damp overpriced suburb’ here in Wellington ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Tui was high on my list too but the beer thing annoys more than it should. That and the Australians have Toohey’s beer which is said practically the same.

        I know an Awhina (Awhi). She’s a 30 something female. It’s really nice.

        I also know of sibs called Aroha and Tumanako. So love and hope ๐Ÿ˜‰ I forget the other child’s name but it’s a ‘virtue’ too.

        I also like Mahuika, Kahikatea and Hฤriata. I can’t stand Charlotte but I love the Maori version ๐Ÿ˜›

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I didn’t know Ngaio was a suburb in Wellington! Toohey is a really awful spelling yuck!

        Awhina is pretty too I like Awhi for nickname ๐Ÿ™‚

        The other wasn’t peace Rangimarie?

        You think having a Mฤori name with a macron would be a pain or just like an accent on a French name?

      • 5

        bewildertrix said,

        Perhaps a bit of an irk. We included the accent aigu on Ophรฉlie and some documentation can’t include it. No biggie. As a first name it would probably irritate me more.

        I completely forget the other child’s name. It may well have been non-Maori and something like Grace but it was definitely in ‘theme’.

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        Thats okay ๐Ÿ™‚ What names are you loving right now?

      • 7

        bewildertrix said,

        *sshhh*

        Actually, I’m referring to my “not a bump/not exactly flat either” as Beauie (BOE ee) today. From Isabeau. And blame the genius that is David Bowie for the twee nickname.

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        I like Isabeau! Your secret is safe!

  2. 9

    Dearest said,

    Moana makes me think of Pan’s Labyrinth, where Ofelia’s “other world” princess name is Moanna, said something like moh-AH-nna in a very Spanish way ^^ It’s a favourite of mine, but I’m unsure how people would react and if they would ever be able to say it right… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      I didn’t know that about Pan’s Labyrinth! thanks for stopping by. I agree how to say it could be difficult, but hopefully being in NZ where Mฤori is a second language most people would eventually work it out, in saying that though NZrs say a lot of place names incorrectly that are Mฤori. Ofelia is a very weird spelling which is the original I think I prefer Ophelia from Shakespeare.

      • 11

        Dearest said,

        Ofelia is the spelling in the film, and also the most accepted spelling in Norway where I live… Ophelia is also a favourite ^^
        If I lived in NZ I would use Moana in a heartbeat! I might do it if I stay in Norway, as the Norwegian pronunciation of Moanna is very similar to the Spanish, and I could use the nickname Moa, which is a name of it’s own right in Sweden that I really love but find too insubstantial to be a full name… ^^

      • 12

        babynamelover said,

        Moa is pretty awesome as a nickname Ana is probably close for us cause I am Anna. Moa is an extinct bird in NZ which is kind of cool too. Oh wow you live in Norway! tell me about your favourite Norwegian names ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you are better of giving children the longer version of names personally I would hate to be Josie or Milly when I got older without the alternative of Josephine or Millicent or Milena or variants.

        I can’t remember whether i have seen the film or not hmm I watched Edward scissor hands for the first time other night trying to get hubby to come round to Edward still :P.

  3. 13

    Dearest said,

    I like Moa… ^^
    You probably haven’t heard of any of my favourite Norwegian names, and they’re not really functional outside of Scandinavia, nor are they the classics like Lars and Ingrid, but here we go; for boys Amund, Ravn (Norwegian word for raven), Engel (Norwegian word for Angel, long tradition as boys’ name), Ask (with a short a, the Norse mythological equivalent of Adam) and Bror (Norwegian word for brother)… i like a lot of word names it seems ^^
    for girls, there’s these: Lilja (Norwegian word for lily), Thomine, Sol (Norwegian word for sun), Erla, Thale, Lerke (Norwegian word for Lark), Olava and Eir (goddess of healing in Norse Mythology)…

    And I know that about films and books having an impact on names! I love Edward like you largely because of Edward Scissorhands, and even Ichabod has made it on my list due to Sleepy Hollow!! not to mention Tristan and Yvaine from Neil Gaiman’s Stardust!! ^^

    • 14

      babynamelover said,

      Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

      How do you say Ravn?

      I like Lilja I think if I am pronouncing it correctly what is the correct way? ๐Ÿ™‚ I have heard of Eir but don’t know how to say it.
      Oh I like Solana I think that comes from sun too?

      I don’t think I have seen/read sleepy hollow or stardust. I like Isolde from Tristan & Isolde. Juno. and Thea from a children’s book ๐Ÿ™‚ Theodore comes from Outrageous fortune a NZ show.

      I am always looking for good books or movies so recommend away :p ๐Ÿ™‚

      • 15

        Dearest said,

        Lilja is LIL-ya, Ravn is one syllable, but really hard to explain… I’m so used to it, to me the spelling is straightforward no nonsense and all that… The r is harsh like in Spanish or French ^^ Eir is EYR with that harsh R again, EY like an e with an accent, รฉ, like in Andrรฉ…

        I think Solana comes from sun as well, Sol being the Latin name for the sun… I love Sun names, especially Samson and Sunniva, but Sunniva only in English… Some Norwegian names are really dull and over exposed in Norway, but exotic and unique overseas, like Sunniva…

      • 16

        babynamelover said,

        Yeah I thought that was how you said Lilja its very pretty ๐Ÿ™‚ Is Samson biblical too aswell as being a sun name?

  4. 17

    Dearest said,

    Samson is biblical as well, from the Samson and Delilah story… He’s a good guy and there are so many good aspects to learn from his story so he’s a really good namesake in my opinion, just like Daniel only more uncommon ^^

    • 18

      babynamelover said,

      I thought its was from the bible but don’t know the story, Samson is spunkier than Samuel, Omg I went through a phase of loving Delilah for awhile thats why my name at behindthename is “DelilahRuby” I loved that combo.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

