Name for today- Beatrix

Probably from Viatrix, a feminine form of the Late Latin name Viator which meant “voyager, traveller”. It was a common name amongst early Christians, and the spelling was altered by association with Latin beatus “blessed”. Viatrix or Beatrix was a 4th-century saint who was strangled to death during the persecutions of Diocletian. In England it became rare after the Middle Ages, but it was revived in the 19th century. A famous bearer was the British author and illustrator Beatrix Potter (1866-1943), the creator of Peter Rabbit. (Behindthename)

I love Beatrix Potter the movie is pretty awesome, who’s seen it?

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    brooke said,

    Huh that’s interesting about Beatrix’s origins, I think I always just assumed it was to do with ‘beatus’. I can never quite take this name seriously, thanks to this Monty Python clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epEyvVuNexQ

    I loved Miss Potter, except the ending was so sad! And I found Ewan McGregor’s moustache hilarious. I would giggle at inappropriate times during the movie.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Hehe thats funny, thanks for sharing that 🙂

      I must watch Miss Potter again I don’t remember the moustache and I probably should!

      What are your favourite movies?

      • 3

        brooke said,

        The moustache wasn’t really memorable, I just found it funny for some reason! Everyone else I mention it to is like o.O

        My favourites… Princess Bride, Boys Don’t Cry, Benny and Joon, 10 Things I Hate About You, then all the usual girly suspects, Notting Hill, Love Actually, Four Weddings and a Funeral, etc. Plus a few others, but they’re the main ones.

        How about you?

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        Yeah cause I don’t particularly remember the moustache lol 😛

        Oh Princess Bride haven’t seen that in ages! Have you seen the curious case of benjamin button its good 🙂
        um also Juno, 28 days and 28 weeks later, eagle vs shark, I am sam, gone baby gone, slumdog millionaire, I am legend,
        seven pounds, wall e, shrek all three but mostly the 1st, children of men, once, 28 dresses, the notebook, anything with Seth Rogel, The hangover um thats all I can think of at the moment lol.

      • 5

        brooke said,

        Yup I saw Benjamin Button. I liked all the bits where Brad Pitt didn’t look like Brad Pitt, coz when he did I didn’t feel like he did enough to distract from the fact it was just him. I loved Cate Blanchett though. I found it quite similar in feel to Forrest Gump (I like FG better though).
        I just got out Eagle vs Shark yesterday, have been meaning to watch it for ages coz everyone keeps telling me it’s brilliant lol. Loved I Am Sam and Shrek, but hated The Notebook (I know, I’m like the only person in the world! :P)

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        I love Forest Gump, I need to get it on dvd, my parents had it taped on VCR. Yeah I liked when he was older, Brad Pitt was a little distracting took till halfway through the movie for me to go to hubby “is that brad pitt” 😛 lol.

        Hope you enjoy, eagle vs shark 🙂 I love those two in flight of the concords!

      • 7

        babynamelover said,

        I don’t like titanic but like the notebook.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

