Demi for a girl

I really love this again, would you use Demeter as a first name or too boyish these days.

Wikipedia-Demeter (pronounced /dɨˈmiːtər/; Greek: Δημήτηρ, lit. “Earth-Mother” from the Doric Dā form of Greek De “Earth” and Meter “Mother”[1]. Or possibly “distribution-mother” from the noun of the Indo-European mother-earth *dheghom[2] *mater, also called simply Δηώ), in Greek mythology, is the Goddess of grain and fertility, the pure. Nourisher of the youth and the green earth, the health-giving cycle of life and death, and preserver of marriage and the sacred law. In the Homeric Hymn to Demeter, dated to about the seventh century BC.[3] she is invoked as the “bringer of seasons”, a subtle sign that she was worshipped long before she was made one of the Olympians. She and her daughter Persephone were the central figures of the Eleusinian Mysteries that also predated the Olympian pantheon.

Her Roman equivalent is Ceres.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bewildertrix said,

    Ugh! Demi is considered one of the ultimate chav (read bogan) names in the UK, usually coupled with Leigh/Lee. It’s not used here enough to have any real associations but I thought I’d mention it at least.

    I much prefer Demeter. You could also garner it from the Cornish place name/ literary name (Poldark novels) Demelza. I love to see Cornish names get some use given the language itself is in need of a huge revival. It’s being done albeit slowly and surely.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Oh I didn’t know that about Demi thanks 🙂 hubby has gone off it anyway for the moment, I still think its quite pretty. Demelza I haven’t heard of that before that sounds spanish but its Cornish? what are some other nice Cornish names?

      • 3

        Bewildertrix said,

        It’s probably more famous for the BBC miniseries based on the novels. My mother loved it. I knew a Demelza growing up. Younger sister to Samantha and Tabitha. Very witchy theme there. There was another child but I can’t for the life of me remember what she was called.

        Other than Demelza, I love Elowen (el OH en) which is based on the Cornish elew meaning elm tree. Other lovely ones are Morwenna and Kerensa. Also Loveday (LUV dee) although that’s not strictly Cornish it just became confined to Cornwall after usage elsewhere in England dropped off.

        http://members.ozemail.com.au/~kevrenor/cfnames.htm

        You will find them with various spelling sometimes. Until a decision was made last year, there was no one standard written form of the Cornish language.

        And my blog is in your blog roll -> Onomastitrix. Although I probably shouldn’t comment here as I’m bound to monopolise your blog. There’s lots of neat names to comment on.

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        ooh I like Tabitha 🙂 I really dislike Samantha I think its cause I don’t like Sam on a girl at all. Ooh Elowen is very pretty! Ruby Elowen is nice. Morwenna I think I have heard of before its pretty too, Kerensa is that biblical aswell or not? I have heard that one before too! Loveday would make a cool middle name, what gender?
        Thank you 🙂 comment all you like 🙂 I love to talk to others who are name lovers like me 🙂 I will head over to your blog for another visit today 🙂

      • 5

        Bewildertrix said,

        You might be thinking of Keturah (“incense'”), Keziah (“spice tree) or Keren (Keren-happuch), Job’s youngest daughter in the Bible. Kerensa does sound like it belongs doesn’t it?

        It is (or is based on) the Cornish word for love. Because there has been no official standard written form (until recently) you will find it as Carenza, Karenza and Carensa (amongst others).

        I don’t like Carenza so much given it’s an Italian word for “shortage/scarcity” 😉

        Loveday was used on both genders during the middle ages. It’s now found as surname and a rare girl’s first name. I’ve seen it a few times in UK BAs. Wiki has a great entry actually: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loveday

        Cheers 🙂

      • 6

        babynamelover said,

        I think I was thinking of Keren, I like all those three actually, I went to school with a Kezia. OOh I like how it means love! I also like Grainne which is love too 🙂
        I’m going to go check out loveday 🙂 thanks for the link 🙂 I am going to have a look at those Cornish names and see which ones I like too!
        I have a thing for name’s ending in o at the moment.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

