Name for today- Primrose

The meaning of the name Primrose is Flower Name

The origin of the name Primrose is English  (babynames.com)

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SophieGray said,

    I like Primrose to slot in the middle when people are looking for flower names other that Lily and Rose, but still want something very feminine. I’ve toyed with her in a few combos, but don’t think I’d use her up front, as she’s a bit too sugary. She compliments most names well though 🙂

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I couldn’t use her upfront either! do you think shes fresher than Rose? or would Rosamund be nicer?

      • 3

        SophieGray said,

        I think, as a mn, she’s much more enexpected than Rose, making her seem fresher; and as a first name, she’s a bit too sickly sweet, but I find Rose fresh as a fn anyway. Rosamund is lovely, and definitely sounds more together and grown up, with a hint of sophistication. I think she may be just a bit fresher, yes, as the uber sweetness isn’t there 🙂

      • 4

        babynamelover said,

        I agree 🙂 I like Rosa for a first name too I went to school with a Rosa she would be 21 now. What about Rosemary?

  2. 5

    SophieGray said,

    I prefer Rosamund over Rosemary because I personally find Rosemary a teensy bit dated. I prefer Rose over Rosa because I find her sweeter and generally prefer the option of a name without the -a ending for no particular reason, eg Sophie over Sophia, Isabel over Isabella, Sylvie over Sylvia, Marie over Maria?

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      I too like Rosamund better than Rosemary too! I have a second cousin Rose. I like Sofia but spelt this way, I like Isobel, Sylvie & I like Maria over Marie so I’m bit half and half!

  3. 7

    shay120 said,

    I think Primrose is so pretty!

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Would you use it as a first? or keep it as a middle? 🙂 I think it has a really regal air I could see it with Victoria, Edward & Catherine.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

