Name for today- Genevieve

Origin of the name Genevieve:

Derived from the Gaulish Genovefa, a name with Celtic roots but the meaning of which is uncertain. The first element is believed to be from genos (race, people, tribe); the second is possibly from an element meaning “woman.” Its alteration in the translation from the Celtic to the French seems to be the cause of the confusion.

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SophieGray said,

    I like Genevieve. It’s my grand-mere’s name (Genevieve Lucienne Marie), and also one of my best friend’s names (Genevieve Michele) 🙂

    I prefer the French pronunciation to the English one immensely, and I don’t like the nn Gen/Jen. The friend goes by Viv. Despite that, I like her lush girliness and sophistication. She can come off as a bit pretentious sometimes, but with the right middle, I think she shines!

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      Genevieve Lucienne is beautiful!! I don’t have a nice Genevieve combo shes very hard to place!! any ideas? I like Vivi.

  2. 3

    SophieGray said,

    Yep, if I were to honour family, my grandmothers Genevieve Lucienne Marie & Lilian Marceline Elisabeth work for me 🙂

    She is really hard to place. I toyed with some Genevieve combos a while ago when I was bored and the best I could come up with Alice Genevieve Aurore, which flows terribly with the english prn.! Umm…

    Genevieve Ophelia Pearl, Genevieve Ottilie Maris, Genevieve Pandora Jane, Genevieve Cora Elspeth, Genevieve Lucy Violet, Genevieve Adella Pearl, Genevieve Cordelia May

    Ugh – I don’t know.. she is horrible! 🙂 Lovely name though

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Ooh I like Genevieve Pandora Jane!! and Genevieve Lucy Violet & Genevieve Adella Pearl or May. thanks for those Sophie 🙂 Matilda, Iris, Oliver & Lillian is pretty I think i prefer that to Genevieve.

  3. 5

    SophieGray said,

    No problem. Yeah, it sounds alright, but I’ve never been a huge enough fan of Lillian to use her up front. I prefer the simpler Lilia, and even Lily and the French Liliane. Plus, my sister has a baby Lilian, so she’s out!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

