Name for today- Henry

Origin of the name Henry:

From the French Henri, from the German Heinrich, which is from the Old High German Haganrih (ruler of an enclosure), a compound name composed from the elements hag (an enclosure, a hedging-in) and rihhi (ruler), and from the Old High German Heimerich (home ruler), a compound name composed from the elements heim (home) and rik (ruler, king). The name, introduced by the Normans and borne by eight English kings, took the English vernacular form of Harry until the 17th century, when Henry became popular and Harry was used as the pet form.

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SophieGray said,

    You know I adore Henry – he’s absolutely aweosme, and I’d use him up front if my best friend hadn’t beaten me to it!! He’s just a charming classic, and feels similar to those like Edward, Oliver and the like!

  2. 3

    SophieGray said,

    Ummm.. I do, somewherE? Ha.. my boys combos are in shambles, I can barely give any out on the top of my head. I think Cillian Arthur Henry & Jasper Henry Emile / Jasper Henry Etienne are the only ones I can think of atm. Henri is a family name for me too; so bonus!

    Do you have him in any combos at all?

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Jasper Henry Emile is nice πŸ™‚ umm Henry Arthur Leopold, Cassian Henry (but haven’t done combos with Cassian yet) I think I prefer him in the first name spot just cause I love him so much πŸ™‚

  3. 5

    SophieGray said,

    I love him as a first name too. Henry Hamilton sounds awesome!

    Henry Arthur Leopold is to die for! And I love Cassian as well. Cassian Henry Leopold would be fairly awesome as well!

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Matilda, Iris, Oliver & Henry is gorgeous!! would your partner go for it? I can’t even remember if you told me his name…

      OOh Cassian Henry Leopold is nice can I put him in my notebook? I have some combos to put up when I get a chance “:)

      • 7

        SophieGray said,

        Oh yeah, Dan loves Henry, but my best friend has a Henry, and we see each other heaps and have been friends for 20 years, so I think it’d be a bit weird if I used Henry as well πŸ™‚

        Sure you can – don’t bother asking, just add it!! I’m not overly possessive about any names I blurt out; plus they usually suck, so I love it when my brain actually formulates a good one! (I’m not very good on the combo front!)

        You definitely should, I adore Cassian & Cassius, and maybe even Cassiel, but he seems a bit girly. I can’t decide which I love more – Cassius or Cassian?! Dan prefers Cassius, so I guess that’s default πŸ™‚

      • 8

        babynamelover said,

        I think I like Cassius too but not sure, Hubby finally said Henry was okay today, I have a baby name book out from library it matches last name vowels to first names that sounds nice, I will post mine later, I can put the ones up it suggests for you too or email them to you? is your last name Graham? I don’t have any holds bout names either so feel free to use any of my combos or play around with them πŸ™‚

  4. 9

    SophieGray said,

    Oh really?! I’m excited for you that Henry has been approved πŸ™‚

    That book sounds really interesting! Yeah, that would be rather interesting to suss out – and you’re right, it is boring old Graham πŸ™‚ I don’t mind where you put them. go crazy. If you can’t be bothered don’t worry about it though!

    • 10

      babynamelover said,

      I have done the girls, I have picked out ones I thought fitted your style I will post them when I get home πŸ™‚ then Ill do the boys, I can email you the whole list too when I get time Ive got the book for a month πŸ™‚

      Henry Allan Hamilton
      Henry Franklin Hamilton
      Henry Steven Hamilton


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

