Name for today-Noah

Hubby loves this name!

Origin of the name Noah:

Derived from the Hebrew nōach (rest, comfort). The name is borne in the Bible by the patriarch commanded by God to build the ark, upon which he saved his family and two of each creature from the Great Flood. He is seen as the second progenitor of the human race,

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lola said,

    I just said it below in the “older Combos’ post. Nioah to me is an old Italian guy saying “No”. I had an ancient Italian immigrant living next door to me when I was a kid, and that’s what “no” sounded like to me when he said it. I could never make myself use it. Also, I’m one of those annoying Moms that have no problem saying “No” to my kids when I have to. By the age of two my kids know when I say No, I mean it and I stick with it. So there’s no point arguing.
    I don’t have a problem with anyone else using Noah, but I hope my Josie doesn’t come home with a Noah guy at some point, I probaly will make a face to keep from laughing. Not his fault, mine.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

