Name for today-Steven

Origin of the name Steven:

From the Latin Stephanus, which is from the Greek Stephanos, a name derived from stephanos (a crown, a garland). The name is borne in the Bible by St Stephen, one of the seven chosen to assist the apostles, and the first Christian martyr. Var: Stefan, Stefen, Stefon, Stephan, Stephon, Stevan, Steven, Stevon. Short: Steve.

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman.(baby name wizard)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lola said,

    Hah! Steven is my kid Brother’s name! He’s always wished our folks had gone with the Stephen spelling, it’s more elegant, he says. But I like the name. 🙂 It’s got a friendly vibe. Sadly, my brother has been “Steve” for so long, if you call “Steven!” out, he doesn’t turn around. I think about possibly using it in the middle, for him but he keeps saying “no, don’t”. So I don’t know about for me. But I think Stephen is lovely (and Stefan). but Steve is kind of bland. I should know, he tells me all the time! 🙂

  2. 3

    Monique said,

    MMM Unfortunately a lot of the time Steven will get Steve.. 😦 Sometimes nicknames are sad, as they can ruin a lot of very nice names.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

