Name for today- Jasper

Origin of the name Jasper:

English form of Gaspar, a name of uncertain etymology which, along with Balthasar and Melchior, was assigned to the Three Wise Men, who brought gifts to the Christ child. The names are not found in the Bible and are thought to have been fixed in the 11th century. Gaspar might have been derived from the Persian genashber (treasure master), which is in keeping with his role of the bringer of precious gifts.

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SophieGray said,

    I adore Jasper – Matilda has a little friend named Jasper, whom I adore, and I’m fairly certain that’s where my love of the name came from! His whole sibset is: Simone, Annabel, Jasper & Lucy, which I find quite pleasant.

    Jasper’s sounds are soft, making him feel very kind and refined to me, but not at all girly. He’s lovely 🙂 My working combo with him, I have troubles with. I think it’s Jasper Henry Emile / Jasper Florian Emile.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I will have to think of some Jasper combos 🙂 Jasper & Lucy are cute together not a big fan of his other sister’s names. Jasper Henry Emile is my favourite out of those two. Matilda, Iris, Oliver & Jasper sounds nice 🙂 thanks for stopping by 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

