Name for today- Poppy

POPPY

Gender: Feminine

Usage: English (British)

Pronounced: PAH-pee  [key]

From the word for the red flower, derived from Old English popæg. (Behind the name)
Poppy is my favourite flower name 🙂 I say it Pop-pee though
8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lola said,

    Pop & PAHP are the same sound to me. The O in Pop is an open AH o, and I grew up[ saying Papa/Pop. And that’s what my kids call my partner. Josie’s just growing pout of Papa as I type. She still waffles between Papa & Pop. So you and the key are correct (at least in my book) !

  2. 3

    SophieGray said,

    The accent thing interests me somewhat. Like I absolutely adore Clara for example, and whenever I post about her, I forget that most Americans seem to prononce her CLEHR-ah over CLAHR-ah, and so forth.

    Anyway, it’s safe to say I adore Poppy, as I used it for DDs mn. She’s sweet and buoyant and peppy and full of energy 🙂 a perfect flowery middle to offset a perhaps ‘heavier’ fn or mn, a la Poppy Octavia or Aurelia Poppy.

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Ooh Aurelia Poppy is pretty can I put that one on my list? Thanks Sophie.
      I don’t get the USA pronounciation

  3. 5

    SophieGray said,

    Haha neither do I!

    Anyway, of course you can add it – go for it 🙂 Aurelia’s been one of my top names for years! Though I can never find a stellar combo for her. Aurelia Ivy Maris is the close I can get to perfect.

    • 6

      babynamelover said,

      Thanks Sophie 🙂 Aurelia is nice with your kids cause they all have the soft I sounding sound in them if that makes sense, should be in bed! What does Maris mean something about the sea?

  4. 7

    SophieGray said,

    Yeah, I do adore Aurelia, and I like Aurelie too, which I think fits better with my kids, as well as draws on my French heritage, so I’d probably end up using the latter.

    Yep, Maris means Of the Sea according to BabyNamesWorld, and originally stemmed from Stella Maris, aka Star of the Sea, aka a name for the Virgin Mary.

    I never even associate it with the religious aspect though, as I’m not at all religious 🙂

    • 8

      babynamelover said,

      Maris is quite pretty!! Hubby loathes Stella he says its really ugly. I like Aurelie to Aurelia.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

