Name for today- Franklin

This is honouring my Grandad Frank.

Origin of the name Franklin:

Transferred use of the surname, which is from the Middle English frankeleyn (a freeman, a landowner of free but not noble birth). The word is derived from the French franc (free).

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman

Franklin Roosevelt, Dad James (54 when born), Mum Sara,

Named after Sara’s favourite Uncle Franklin Delano.

Married Eleanor, Dad Elliott. Uncle Theodore Roosevelt.

Anna Eleanor 1906, James 1907, , Franklin Delano jr 1909(249 days lived)  Elliott 1910

Franklin Delano jr (2) 1914, John Aspinwall 1916 (Wikipedia)

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lola said,

    Franklin’s fine, just not for me. Too surnamey and not in my family tree.Well, that and he’s a turtle in my head. Frank is (an Uncle by marriage) and Frances was my Mom, so I could concievably use Francis on a boy. Which is definitely my preference. I think Frank is wicked cool and not just a little sexy.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      hehe I think the turtles cute 🙂 I prefer Frances on a girl to Francis on a boy not sure why. I would do Frank as a first name if I could!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

