Dora and other ponderings

Which one do you prefer as a nickname Dora, Dot, Dottie or Thea?

Dorothy

Dorothea

Theodora

Theola

Theone/Theoni

Theora

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lola said,

    Dorothea’s my favorite, easily. Theordora’s too close to Theodore (which is off limits for me, having a Simon already!) and I dislike the other Th beginners. D is not my favorite letter but I find Dorothea most charming. Dorothy’s a close runner up.

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I think Dorothea’s my favourite too, althought I do like Dora by itself. Dora Lucy is on my list somewhere I know its too short names not sure how to tweak it any ideas? How is Thea meant to be pronounced? I have heard several variations. I think Dot is cute as a nickname too, I had a cook at Uni hall called that.

  2. 3

    Lola said,

    Dora Lucy could be Dorothea Lucy, Dorothy Lucille or Dora Lucienne. Thea from me is always Thee-ah when I see it alone. I know it can be TAY-ah but I’d have toi be corrected at least once. And Dorothea to me is dor-o-THEE-ah, not dor-o-TAY-ah. Dot is definitely my favorite nickname for Dorothea. Now I have to go play with her! 😀

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      I like Thea how you say it too 🙂 ooh I will ponder those combos thank you 🙂 thanks as always 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

