Name for today- Walter

Gender: Masculine

Usage: English, German, Scandinavian, Polish

Pronounced: WAWL-tər (English), VAHL-ter (German, Polish) [key]

From a Germanic name meaning “ruler of the army”, composed of the elements wald “rule” and heri “army”. The Normans brought it to England, where it replaced the Old English cognate Wealdhere. A famous bearer of the name was Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), a Scottish novelist who wrote ‘Ivanhoe’ and other notable works. (www.behindthename.com)
2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lola said,

    Walter doesn’t bother me much, I knew one as a kid, he turned out alright. But I do know another, kind of weird Walter. That and the thought of a Wally completely ruin Walter for me, I’m sorry to say. And Sir Walter Scott wrote Ivanhoe, one of my FAVORITE stories of all time! Sad. Sad. Sad. 😦

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I still like Walter he has old charm for me 🙂 Its sad how people you know can put off very nice names!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

