Name for today Margaret

My Nan’s name 🙂

Origin of the name Margaret:

From the Greek Margarītēs, which is derived from maragon (a pearl).

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman

Meg, Peg, Margie, Maggie, Madge, Maisie, Greta, Gretchen, Megan, May, Maj, Meta, Marge, Peggy, Margo, Daisy (Namewizard)

I love how many nicknames Margaret has is Pearl plausible as a nn?

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SophieGray said,

    My youngest niece’s mn is Margarete! Margaret’s lovely – she’s homely but undeniably feminine, and definitely classic. Despite her longevity, I don’t feel any staleness or old people only vibes from her 🙂

    My favourite nn for Margaret are Daisy & Maisie. I like Peggy and Margo(t) too, but perfer the former too. I actually teach a little Peggy, which is her stand alone name! Madge and Marge are the only nn I really don’t like.

    Oh, and yes! I think Pearl is very plausible 🙂

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      I would like to name a daughter Margaret after my Nan but not sure if hubby would go for it I just love all the nicknames 🙂 and its classic feel! Oh I like Margot aswel thanks for reminding me 🙂 It is definitely on our shortlist as a middle name. ALso bonus its my MIL name also two birds!!

  2. 3

    Lola said,

    Margaret gets a lot of love from me, even though the family version for me is Margery. Regal, lovely and all woman. I love Maisie, Daisy, and Meggie/Meg as nicknames. I’ll second that Pearl is definitely plausable. I have a cousin whose married to a Peggy, so it feels 65 to me, as she is. Greta appeals as a nickname too.

    I’ll be back after supper to do more!

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Greta is lovely nickname for Margaret hadn’t think of that. Hubby said all the nicknames sound like cows 😦 there goes Margaret in Fn position have to resort back to middle name spot 😦 darn it!!! My Nan is Margaret, My Mil and My dad’s sister who died as a newborn.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

