Name for today-Hazel

Origin of the name Hazel:

Taken from the name of the hazelnut tree, which is derived from the Old English hæsel (hazel). Alternatively, the name can also be derived from the Hebrew hazā’ēl (God sees).

From A World of Baby Names by Teresa Norman.

My Granddad’s sister (Dad’s Dad)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    SophieGray said,

    I think Hazel’s charming 🙂 She’s got a rather ‘homely’ feel to me – she’s feminine and sophisticated with a hint of interest, but not exactly buoyant. To me, she is just a very subdued, ‘quiet’ name.

    Oh, and plus – unlike other pretty names such as Vivienne or even Violet & Clementine, she doesn’t seem to have an ounce of celebrity in her!

    • 2

      babynamelover said,

      HOoray hehe I wouldn’t like to see Hazel become very popular! I have some Hazel combo’s on here, if you like to give me your thoughts 🙂 thanks as always

  2. 3

    Lola said,

    Hazel’s sweet. Not my favorite color name but like Sophie said, subdued but pretty. How lovely to have one in your family tree!

    • 4

      babynamelover said,

      Oh like the eye colour!! I would love to use Hazel, maybe I should think about her in first place position 🙂 Thanks Lola


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

